Bay Island Bream

Thread: Bay Island Bream

Bay Island Bream

Got to follow Lucky_Phill around in my boat last night chasing a couple of bream. (thanks again Phill [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] ) Went a few places I would not expect to go, try a few things I normally would not have.

End result,,, 7 keepers . 1 only 23 so released it, 3 around 28, 2 around 32 and 1 that went 36. Not getting may bream in the past, I asked Phil if the big one would be a snodger. It looked huge (yeh ok, I had no idea). Even weighed it when I got home, but only went 865 grams. I think he was just being nice when he said it was a pretty good one as he followed it by showing me one of his 40cm models.

Was a good night and a nice change to come home with a feed. Even had Craigie stop and say giday on his way through. (sorry about calling your boat a tornado).

Re: Bay Island Bream

Yes Cheech, I didn't mean to say that your " snodgers ' weren't good fish, it's just that you can usually pick up a kilo ( 40cm plus ) Bream over there.

We ended up with over 2 dozen.

The photos' will follow here tomorrow afternoon.

Short report goes something like this "-

Paul ( non-ausfisho, but ! ), and I left Whyte Island at about 3.30pm, and it was w.o.t all the way to Mud. Found the ( sand ) spot in the light, then headed to Squire grounds. 12 boats in all in the area, inc us, Cheech and Craigie..

Donged a few of the sort after species, Grinner, which were promptly filleted for bait. 1 big run and loose. Mostly just under Squire and some good Bream.

As the tide seemed to change a little early, we went in close for the target species, Bream. Spot x came up and the pick went down. Cheech anchored a good distance from us. Periodic berley was thrown in and Bream were slow. We felt the berley was due to work as the surface action was non-stop. At one stage we had 4 Bream bouncing on the bottom of the boat, all still connected to the hooks. They just went off, big time.

Wind, that was from the east/ nth east, dropped off and the ' fire ' in the water appeared. This seemd to turn the fish off a tad. Decided to head West. Rounded up Cheech and moved to the ' beach ".

Anchor down, berley out, bait out and Bang. within 10 seconds, a " snodger," ( kilo ) Bream was giving me curry on the light gear. Don't ask me why I was using 6lb line and an Alvey

The Bream safely in the net, the session started to hot up. We started to lose more hooks than we should, and discovered why when I turned the sounder on ! doh ! no water under the boat and we are casting into rocks, well maybe 1ft - 2ft of water.

Motored into slightly deeper stuff, as the tide was dropping, for a couple more Bream. All in all, 1 over the kilo ( 40cms ), 3 at 37cms, 3 at 35cms and a whole lot more round the 30cm mark.

Pulled the pin reasonably early and 3/4 pace back to the ramp. The fire in the water made it look like someone was under the boat holding a floodlight near the prop.

Upon cleaning the fish, it was apparent that the berley was working. over 10 fish had it in their gut. Also most were female and most had been feeding on shellfish.

For anyone wanting to have some fum for a few hours, and get a feed, just to prove to the missus that you actually GO fishing, the bream are in reasonable numbers at the moment and will only get better when the water temp drops.

To, Cheech, hope you had fun ( keep those lights off ) and to Paul....:-

Patience Grasshopper, Patience !!!

Pics to follow.

Re: Bay Island Bream.

G'day Phil,

You were using 6lb line cos its FUN!!

Do you or any of the guys use or have sucess with soft plastics over there?

And are they around during the day or just lesser quality?

Hail King Phill the BRIM king all you need now phill is a hat like nuggets lmfao !

CHEERS RAY

Well Cheech, now you have a little taste, and you've found out the island is not baren.
    So hopefully this weekend we can get you some pink ones.
    New i went the right direction friday nite
    Wonder if poor old Cragie is still running around out there.
    Dont worry about Phill, he rambles on a bit its just his nature

maybe I have finally sorted this bloody digi camera thing.

the catch !

Now we no where the fresh chicken gut comes from.

happy Jan !

Ausfish Addict

hey phil
    is that chook poop down ya pants ?
    Joe

No Webby & Joe. only just got the chooks and those are my painting tracky dax.

aquarius

Nice catch there Phill......Is that XXXX to drink before or after filleting?
    Im going to hit the LOGS this coming weekend to see if i can equal those snodgers.
    You didn,t say what they were caught on or is that Phills secret bait?
    I reckon you can,t go wrong with FRESH MULLET STRIPS.
    Cheers Brent

adriancorrea

Good catch there Cheech, Phil and crew
    Hoping to get out soon, So Ill ring for some of that chook gut Phil LOL

Tight Lines
    Adrian

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Phill and Cheech,

Well done guys, better than average bream ended up in your eskies Friday Night.
    We should have stayed around and tailed you in to the shallows.
    Our esky went home empty again
    We fished a variety of spots around the Island (thanks Webby) but all very quiet on the night. The western Snapper spot, had a boat sitting right on top of it when we went around there. Will try that one next time.

Spent Saturday Arvo in the Pine River, cast netting a nice feed of Banana Prawns, then spent a full day Sunday stitching up a good catch of 'average' Bream from Downtown Jumpnpin.

How good has that weather been over the last few days, just magic

Craig.

Ausfish Addict

Craigie
    Our esky went home empty again
    try drinking less then you will have some when you get home like phil. ROFLMAO. sorry
    Joe

Might have to change the colour of your boat Craig, or did you have it painted to match Webbies, in the hope of emulating his ' esky ' ?

No secret bait. Chook gut ! end of story ! simple as that.

Although some fresh Tailor fillets will do the job.