Thread: Caloundra wide 15th

Caloundra wide 15th

We left Bribie at about 5.00am myself, Peewee (Les) and Mark a Psycholigist from UQ. Good to have one of them on board
    The run out to The North eastern banks was perfect and then the 10 to 15knts kicked in. Started at the bottom of Cal wide and not a scale to be seen moved up to the top and out a bit wider. Les was first to score with an above average Pearlie them Mark with a small cobie that we taged and released( this is where we needed a psycholigist) the hook came out as I was about to have a gaff shot. The wind picked up a little more and we knew it was going to be a hard day at the office. We made our way back down to where we started the day the wind dropped a bit and Bang it started. Les scored with a nice Snapper about 7 kg then another about 9kg
    Mark chipped in with some nice Pearlies and a Parrot. The cream rose to the top as the skipper scored a Snapper about 3kgs and a double on Pearlies. The trip home was in almost perfect conditions the total for the day 4 Snapper, 11 Pearlies and a Parrot. Cal wide is like that nothing and them within and hour you can bag out.
    Wayne

Re: Caloundra wide 15th

The happy crew

A couple of nice fish there Wayne saw your boat ready to set sail when I came home in the wee hours on Sat morn after my trip to Shorncliffe in case your wondering I live next door to Glen drive the White Jeep Cherokee.

THE BOMBER

Well done Wayne and crew...
    Some nice feeds in that lot mate.
    Am gonna have to do a trip with you soon.

Rich.

Which snapper in the photo is "9KG"

Loozitt,
    sorry mate typo error about 7 and 6
    Wayne

Good on you les,nice day and some nice fish too boot ,cheers

Thx no_worries
    Finally found the pics on the digital camera. Memory card had come lose,and so couldnt find these until i looked a little further

And just to top the day off..
    I'm not going back to doubled ganged hooks anymore. I have found that fish gets lip hooked on the top hook of 3,and the bottom hook swings around until it hooks in as well for a double secure hook up.

Good on you les.
    I have a digital camera and colin took some photos last trip so i'm waiting for him to send them to me and i'll see if i can work out how to put them on the board.
    Shame about the double hooks,worked it out years ago when palermo was advocating double hook rigs.
    Fine for snapper that crunches the head but the majority of pan size just tail the bait and miss the hooks completely,cheers no worries

Hey les,Top stuff mate what are you doing with all the fish you are getting this year???

Have replenished all the gear that the mongrels took out of the boat after our last trip , so could be out there again pretty soon if not this Sunday.

Just trying to come up with a plan to slow you down a bit so I can catch one or two

lol Peter... i was thinking of you when i was catching them all !
    As for the eating,havent had to buy meat for weeks.. .. Just had to suffer fresh fish for breakfast ,lunch and tea ... lol its a hard life !! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

what do ya reckon? Maybe this fine fellow for tea tommorow,or should it just be some mackeral fillets ?

Now I have seen it all !!!
    PeeWee , when you have somebody else taking the photo you MUST NOT hold the fish so close to the camera,it is like those annoying mirrors on the left hand side of cars with the message THINGS LOOK BIGGER THAN THEY REALLY ARE
    LOL LOL LOL !!!!!