-
OMG!! I Used Bait!!
Original plan was for me to go for a lurk up the river today and toss the fur and feather around.. but my brother showed up and decided he wanted to fish offshore, so we hooked up the boat and got everything ready then my old man who hasnt been offshore in my boat in over 2yrs decided he liked to come so packed his gear in and headed to mooloolaba. soon as we had launched and out in the bay we fired straight out to the inner gneerings to look for some reef, once we found some patches of reef in the 70ft range we dropped anchor and proceeded to to fish.. fishing for us was extremely slow.. with lots and lots of small pecker fish chewing the baits up quickly so swapped over to some frozen yakkas i had from a past trip that i jigged up.. so went the yakka fillets and within 5mins scored our first pearlies.. unfortunately, once a pearlie was caught at a spot the fishing went quiet.. so we moved around a few times and got a few more fish in the 80 to 100ft range.. in the end we got 5 pearlies, 2 parrot, and 1 red rock cod for the esky.. plenty of smaller fish caught and released like hairtail, purple wrasse, happy moments and stuff.. twas a very quiet day, but good fun and something different to my usual lure throwing
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: OMG!! I Used Bait!!
sounds allright, theres something to be said for that smelly stuff after all hey...Nice chewing fish anyway tim...
Kris.
-
good fish tim, but if your fishing in 80-100 foot of water thats not the inner gneerings.
-
went to my mark for the inner gneerings and worked off that.. had the bottom come up to 56ft.. but then drop back down deep.. . in the end we were directly infront of Pt Cartwright
-
Thats it Timmay you got germs now.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Gooooooooo Timbo,
Betcha washed your hands many times too lmfao...
Good catch mate, well done.
Rich.
-
the secret is out.. i did Rich.. bait is icky yucky stuff.. just spent 6hrs fishing up the river to clean the system out of icky bait use..
-
oh yea.. and this is what 6hrs catches.. 1 lil bloody flatty! shoulda taken the spin sticks and thrown plastics.. got heaps of hits.. lost a fly on a good snag.. fave fly too.. guess ill just have to tie up a few
-
jeff i thought the same thing mate a little deep for the inner gneering! Some good ground on the inners though!