Thread: tough day straddy

tough day straddy

Hey all, managed to find a few fish to keep first time deckie Philip busy, conditions started off great with fish coming aboard regularly.

Ben was into the parrot with myself adding some colour to the box as well, the conditions went downhill out wide around mid morn, the current was 3 knots on the 50s and the wind NW and strong enough to be called very ***** unpleasant, we didnt come home fishless though so could of been worse.

Good to see Michael G blooding the fisher out there as well [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

cHiCo

Re: tough day straddy

ya get that.......

still some nice dollies around by the look of it
    least ya got a feed better than in the office...

jeff

and what a lovely warm dry day it was

headed down to the ramp with rob with 4 in robs boat and only michael G in his...so they kicked me out ??? had troubles gettin into the livies and while we were to concentrated on that, we lost rob had a troll around sevens for a while with no luck, drifted baits on the bottom with no luck, casted slugs at rocks with no luck.... > got the phone call from my mate with the waverider gps marks YOU BEAUTY ! headed out to the dollies playground and got stuck into them for a couple of hours! Mick and me had a shitload of fun on the light gear. ended up with more than dinner, wet arse and two bloody big smiles!

Thanks a heap Michael, an awesome day!

Michael

No worries, great company. I found your secret tuna lure in my boat(will drop it a Rob's) Those dollies are great fun alright. could do it all day and never get sick of them. me poor old flattie rig will never be the same

Thanks for the tour. What type/brand of bait jigs were use guys using. Mine weren't much chop, I think. Lots bait showing but no takers, so I might try a different type.
    Will call around tonite?

Michael

geez you fellas looked damn WET AND COLD at the ramp last night
    I thought i recognised that other boat pulling out as we pulled into the car park too

The wind didn't let up overnight either .
    We went out and fished a few locations around peel to no success .winds stayed constant at around 12 / 13 knotts till atleast midnight .
    got a swag of small lippers and squire , nothing decent ...lost a good shark though >
    always tomorrow though ...........( or saturday i think in my case

i bet it would have been freezin guys.... my nuts were frozen at the jetty and i was dry..

Dylan

thanks heaps for an absolutly awsome day rob. it was so much fun. i caught my first ever dolphinfish which wasn't a bad debut nearing 1m. had a piece for dinner it tasted great. the reef fish forgot to read there diary that it was eat the bait time at 11:00am i guess we all forget somethings. the trip back home was very long and rough and unpleasent with alot of rocking around banging getting wet etc etc. ben warned me not to lie on the bottom of the boat while we were going or i would get a sore back. i said it'll be fine. ben mate i should have listened to you my back is killing me now.
    other memorable parts of the day were all my 4 layers of clothing becoming saturated. had to use 1 to keep my camera dry it survived. my phone on the other hand has died and the funeral will be tommorow. lol im hoping an operation on the phone will repair it back to normal. mick don't be to upset about being kicked of robs boat, you still got to go out we could have left you at the ramp . we saw some big whales also that at one stage were coming straight for us hopefully got some good photos of them. to top the day off i didn't get sea sick in robs boat now i have to hope i don't get sea sick on the charter or else i will be shocked then i came home and was falling asleep at the computer and slept very well.

thanks heaps rob for putting me on to my biggest fish ever.
    cheers philip
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

CHRIS_aka_GWH

NICE SHINY ROD HOLDERS IN THAT PIC

Sportfish_5

Phill - Well done mate. In regards to no sea sickness just remember that the MV Mackmauler OC definitley fights above it's weight/size division

thanks greg. robs boat is amazingly stable. i don't think i have ever had a better day offshore fishing .
    cheers philip
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

adriancorrea

Good to see you fellas got a feed
    Lucky I pulled out or I would have been with you mick, not that that would have been bad lol
    Maybe next week Rob
    I'll ring you

Tight Lines
    Adrian

what is the condition of the bar atm
    and what would be the best passage outside be ?>

Sean, in your boat go round amity about 100m from the beach, wont get any better than the next couple days, there are bound to be scores of craft heading out.

Ausfish Addict

Rob you ever going to get a job, that you have to go to every day, and work? you are making me jealous you bathub
    joe