Thread: bloody weather report

bloody weather report

> did any one see what time they changed this AM's forecast from 10 knots to 15-20

we woke up with high expectations of a calm day on the water. only to be greeted by the SE'er as we rounded pt cartwright.
    bashed our way to currimundi and sat there for an uncomfortable hour or so... caught nothing but yakkas (they were so thick i was using just a landing net to get some in the boat

had to settle for some stinkin tailor in the bay before we headed in.

Re: bloody weather report

mate ,didnt go that far for wind .got to back of green at 5am and it was 15kn from south.wind against tide = uck in bay.
    snafu.

mabo

you just got to look at the clouds out side straddie ,there has been storms and south east wide all week > hope it settles back to a few westleys soon

cheers john.

Ausfish Addict

we havent got the rain or the storms forecast in logan yet, seems its all over the place, could really do with some rain to liven things up.
    Joe

Makes me feel better to know that not being able to get out today wasn't such a loss! I was spitting chips about not getting out till I looked outside and confirmed what I saw with the wethger report!!

Bit of rain round here would be most welcome - need to flush out the system a bit. Guess I'll just have to watch Rexy!!

Haven't you guys seen the two big chook wheels at the met office. 1 has the wind direction on it and the other has the wind speed on it, before every weather update they just spin the wheels and that becomes the next weather forcast.
    Atleast it appears like that sometimes. Better luck with the weather next time.
    Cheers Ron
    Make something Idiot proof and they make better Idiots

yeah. this happened with snapperhead and myself up here at Yeppoon on friday.
    forecast was 10kt SW-SE winds. so naturally thinking like every other day they predict SW winds they hang around until 10am or so.

anyway. 7am we get out and it's blowing about 10kts from the south. by 10is's turned around to the SSE and slowly turning and strengthening to 15kts.

what shit us off even more was the bonito and some macks were here in massive numbers the previous 3 - 5 days.. we weren't happy.

It was still forecast 10 knots on the 4:20a.m. forecast even though I saw an observation of 16 knots at DI Pt (where we were heading). Thought it would drop out back to the forecast 10-15 knots but hit about 20knots half way across the bay in front of Rainbow Beach and probably had gusts up to 25 at various times through the day. Just dropped out enough in the arvo to get anchored up for the night on some productive ground.

We got out to hutchies at 4.30am Friday morning to an ever increasing wind. I was a bit concerned by the southerly breeze at spinnaker so i even phoned the boating weather only to receive the 10kn forecast. It made for some very uncomfortable fishing and a very green crew. Well at least I can inform Snappa that he didn't miss much out at hutchies at least in the mornings as I only managed one snapper about 4kg and a good moses about 2kg. I checked the cape observations when I got home and the wind was se at 20kn gusting to 25kn.

Smithy did you get any fish?

See Snappa's DI report.

i rang the weather at around 5.30-6.00 am and it was still saying 10 knots then but next call about 7.30 had changed to 15-20. We headed out early and it was blowing a good 20 knots and sometimes over. The weather station was saying mostly 18-24 knots and so true it was >. They just have no idea

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

ditto