Gold Coast Snapper

Thread: Gold Coast Snapper

Gold Coast Snapper

Headed out to the 24's east of southport yesterday arvo at 3pm to find some unwelcome 15nt northerlies
    but that wasnt stopping our snapper trip . Took fellow ausfisher Blue_Rogue (dominic) out for a run
    in the trailcraft after some late arvo / night snapper. After some initial non co-operative livies, we got a
    tank full and headed out. After about an hour of not much action Dominic's new baitrunner loaded with
    a livie, starts runninng pretty hard towards tweed heads. After a solid hookup and a little while later
    he's calling it for a big snapper. So here i am with my poxy little net watching this snodger Red come up from the depths.
    It was at this time i figured i better hand the gaff to him instead!

So contrary to the photos i didnt catch this fish (i wish ) its actually all Blue_Rogues work but conviently
    i only have a photo of it with me holding it

I did however pick up a couple of trag that i was pretty happy with. And Dominic got pestered by heaps of
    good size tailor. All in all a great night despite the wind. Would like to thank Dominic for his advice and
    tips on the snapper, much appreciated. Maybe next time i'll hook into one myself

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Re: Gold Coast Snapper

Gota be happy with that!
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

DaneCross

Awww, you mongrel... thats a snodger How convienient that JB gets pictured holding Dominic's fish So, Dominic, when are you coming out on my boat?
    DC

Well done JB,

We did the same on Saturday arve but got blown out with the south easter. Wind stayed down just long enough for us to get livies and pound our way into the south eatser out to the 24s. As soon as we found a decent spot, the wind picked up to about 15knots making it too rough to drop the pick with three on board. > We went back in and heard later that our mates that stayed out scored about 5 or so over 10lbs each.

Anyway had a much more peasant day at the 36s on Thursday. They weren't thick but we got a feed of pearlies, parrot and squire. Biggest squire was around 3.5kg. I might give the 24s another shot later this week if I get time.

cheno

mate nice fish there.

gees blue rogue seems to be getting a few fish lately.

how many kg's was the snapper

here's the real owner of the fish.

Great afternoon JB.
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

Fellas,

Did you guys happend to see me drive past you on the way heading south towards the arti and narrowneck.

Were you guys grabbing your lives roughly in the ground 1km or so out from the sand pumping jetty.

I was the white plate driving past with a big pimple on the roof.

Also gave Colorado a wave after coming through the seaway. Nice boat there by the way.

Bugman

Sorry Bugman, didnt see you out there. Saw a bluefin side console but thats all i noticed. Next time if its us come and say gday

Jason

WHAT WEIGHT DID IT GO JB??? mIGHT DO A TRIP OUT WITH YA THRU THE SEAWAY ONEDAY ......I USUALLY FISH UP AROUND MOOLOOLABAH OFFSHORE REEFS (CLOSE) i HAVE A 15FT........TAKE TWO BOATS! I LIVE IN BRISSIE THOUGH!

CHEERS SHANE

GOOD FISH!

i saw the pic without reading the report jason and thought u lucky son of a bitch especially seein you were keen to get one yeh top fish dominic, well and truly a snapper that one!

hahahah, yes rob theres no question on that one I like the look of those ones from the platapus bay report, keen on camping up there for a few days , might have to look into that.

well done top fish there

cheers phil
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

element

To JB,
    Good to see a fish of that size off the 24's.I have been fishing the 24's both evening and morning during the last couple of months and is good for the occasional big fish especially on floaters. What is good to see is that there is a million small snapper around so stocks look good for the future.
    What was the current like the other night as it has been running south last weekend.
    If you see a Victory anchored on the 24's give me a call. I luv the place

Strategy