Southport Sand Pumping Jetty - The Details - Page 5
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Southport Sand Pumping Jetty - The Details

Ausfish Addict

Re: Southport Sand Pumping Jetty - The Details

I'm fairly sure the jetty is run by dept of transport, having said that, the web is a good medium for getting ones opionion across, however, the wrong sort of people also browse the web, grand standing on the net may possibly attract the "wrong kind" resulting in more tension, i still say if you are deeply concerned, do it on the quiet by lobbying your local member. Mine once said for every 1 person that writes to them with concerns there are 50 who don't
    Joe.

Hi Ben,
    Your thread has obviously hit a nerve with the local Australian fishing community.
    I believe that it makes no difference what race, background, up bringing or religion person comes from or believes in.
    A person is a person regardless of what nationality/race/greed.
    In saying this when I have travelled to a foreign country I understand that they have rules and regulations different from ours which I must abide by.
    If you live in Australia you abide by the rules which all Australians abide by.
    Black, White or Yellow you live here, you live by Australian law.
    You respect the fact that Australians also have a national identity/culture.
    What I'm trying to say is that you are more than welcome to stay at my house, just don’t shit in my bed.
    Please don’t think that I am in any way racist.
    I just have a problem with ppl who make me feel like a stranger in my own backyard.
    Anyway sorry about the rambling.
    Lee

Lee,

That is exactly the underlying point at the end of the day - pure and simple. You hit the nail right on the head.

Quote Originally Posted by Abalone_4.9
    <snip>

A person is a person regardless of what nationality/race/greed.
    <snip>
    Lee
    That typo certainly hits the nail on the head Lee :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Maria
    Lee,

That is exactly the underlying point at the end of the day - pure and simple. You hit the nail right on the head.

In more ways than one :-)

There is an old saying
    "When you are in Rome, you do as the Romans do."
    I don't give a damn who comes here to live or visit or where you come from ... you're all welcome.
    But if you come here to enjoy our free, comparatively tolerant, safe country ... you learn OUR RULES and OUR CULTURE and you abide by what our laws/customs dictate.
    I would expect to have to do the same thing if I went to someone elses country to visit or live.
    It is the hight of rudeness and disrespect for anyone to go to someone elses country and do otherwise.
    If anyone wants to come here from another country and bring their own questionable environmental practices/wars/prejudices/greed and the like with them ...then piss off back where you came from, 'cause we don't need you here.

GES

Bingo!!!

Quote Originally Posted by yuankia
    It's not really a case of a much healthier respect of laws in Singapore but it's more because of the effeciency of the proper authorities and the hefty fines, penalties and consequences that loom for people who get caught breaking the law in Singapore that makes the crime rate low and the tendency for the people to obey the law.
    Race/Creed/Colour irrelevant - a REAL chance of being caught and REAL consequences will make a difference [smiley=bobby.gif]. Are the authorities paralysed by fear of upsetting people? Are they hamstrung by the buracracy of the organisation? Start confiscating the offenders gear and the cars in which the undersized fish are stored and I reckon you'd see results.

Maria,
    nah nobody gets caught for not flushing the toilets (or i havent read or heard of anybody who does ). As it is, the authorities got bigger fish to fry (the people in charge of the toilets who don't keep the toilets clean) . Anyway most of the toilets are now automatic ones and most of the people do flush nowadays as a matter of courtesy and hygience. There are of course the few exceptions though.

Where is Dave,
    well, I guess its easier for the authorities to keep things in order when the size of the country is only about the size of Brisbane and its suburbs.

Ben, you showed incredible restraint mate. I have no problem lending a fellow fishermen (that is, of course, obeying the rules) some bait or tackle so they can keep on enjoying our great past time, but for someone to just hop in and grab your stuff shows their obvious disregard for the laws and for fellow fishermen. The fact that they would do something like this also shows that they're so used to it that they probably think they're close to invincible on that jetty. The sting operation suggested by some would be perfect I'd imagine, it's just getting today tonight or someone like that's attention which is the problem. I bet if you said you were the leader of a vigilante group which was going to start smacking these guys heads in , they'd gain interest in your plight very quickly. Don't give up on trying to stop this mate, and when you're dealing with the media, try and give them the most newsworthy angle you can (but don't do the vigilante thing, that'd be really counter-productive ). Good luck and bring on the press.
    Joel (journalism student )
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill
    Yes I am serious.

If the taking of indersized fish is on such a mammoth scale, the pollution is getting out of hand, the users of the jetty don't respect it, the anglers are hell bent on breaking the Law, physical violence is resulting and the Jetty provides a source for criminal activity, then Yes, close it down.

Wonder what Workplace Health and Safety would say about this ?

Geeeez Phill , i don't care if your the global AERATOR of this site or whatever

That's the stupidest statement, by far, you've made this year!! > (and you've said a few )

Mate, you are surely joking
    Kick out everybody good, because of some scumbags actions !!!

WHAT THE......

POLICE supply the paddy wagons and Fisheries BOOK 'EM

or you'll have this bullshit in QUEENSLAND.....no way mate.

http://www.fisheries.nsw.gov.au/gen/...4jun17_new.htm

no way

p.s. Regards
    Gazza

a

Letters/e-mails to the Minister of Fisheries people. Police dont have have the knowledge or authority to do anything about this other than criminal charges for theft/assault. calling a fisheries officer will ensure he/she adds it to the long list of other problems theyve got with not enough staff to achieve anything. 'sting' operations, a one off if your lucky and if its not on the right day youve got nothing. dozens and dozens of e-mails to the Minister. He sees a chance for some good easily achieved publicity. He's the boss, so the fisheries officer now puts it at the top of his/her list. If ignored we whinge to media, Minister gets negative publicity. If you want to push it along get a group together (id go but its a long way) say four or five decent size guys armed with notebooks and digital cameras. Spend the day there and get good info such as whos loading fish into what vehicle (rego numbers), photos of fish being loaded, photos of people hualing in undersize fish, photos of undersize fish in buckets, photos of mincers. If they get upitty tell them to pull there heads in or youll knock em off, if theres four or five of you they wont argue. Basically and this is the bit that gets me, its your society and if you want to protect it do something about it, sure you pay taxes but just ringing people up in the hope that theyll save you will get you nowhere fast. Im not advocating physical confrontation but its one thing to bleat about a problem and another to slap down a portfolio of photos showing whats going on.
    If when writing to the Minister include that the jetty is a fishing icon and great family spot being destroyed etc etc that way hopefully it wont just get closed. Phil's right on the mark with that one. Putting on Government vision glasses 'now whats the cheapest way to fix this' get what i mean.

P.S
    the greatest way to motivate a government department is for them to see you actually doing something yourself, if your willing to do that they will believe your serious. if your all talk no action they will just add it to the pile with the we'll do something about it when its gets serious mentality. Time for us to show em were serious. 8)

Landy has got half the solution. Put together a group of 20 blokes to go down there - but then TELL THE PRESS - boy wouldn't they turn up then !!!!!!

Hon Henry Palaszczuk, MP
    Member for Inala
    Minister for Primary Industries and Fisheries
    Level 8, Primary Industries Building
    80 Ann Street, Brisbane QLD 4000
    GPO Box 46, Brisbane QLD 4001 CDE D32
    Tel: 323 93006
    Fax: 3229 8541
    E-mail: dpi@ministerial.qld.gov.au

Here we go somewhere to get started. I just sent him the thread.