-
Mud island Sat 21 Aug - zilch
Fished Mud island yesterday a couple of hours before and after the high tide in the middle of the day. Used prawns, squid and Pillies as bait. Not a single bite betweeen the two of us. Not a single bite!
Water was very clear. Some dolphins and turtles around but nothing else.
Why? Normally I would expect to get at least a bunch of grinners and undersized squire but not even a single bite???
-
Re: Mud island Sat 21 Aug - zilch
Same here. I even stayed till after dark and the best I got was 2 undersize squire and an undersize moses perch. Very quiet. I cannot recall the last time I even got a grinner, but was at least 2 months ago.
After having a good run of a couple of keepers each trip, I have not had a keeper from Mud for about 4 trips. And I usually stay till about 9.00pm.
I should have done what you did and head back mid afternoon.
Very few boats out there either. Was it the hint of northerly that put everyone off (including the fish).
-
Clear water and in the middle of the day.......I reckon this is why the fish were scarce.
We need some more good rain to stirr up those fish.
Cheers Brent
-
It was a corker of a day though. #I spent a few days in Melbourne last week and it was icy there, and i do mean icy. #My taxi driver told me that he threw his coffee on the windscreen to de-ice it and I believe him.
Saturday on Moreton Bay would have had to be the best day of the year. #I went from Mud to circumnavigate Peel at mid afternoon and the seas were very kind indeed, the sun was luxuriously warm without burning and the temperature was great.
-
Ausfish Premium Member
-
I was there with a mate for about an hour or so Sun mid morning for no bites as well before we pulled the pin and headed elsewhere. ???
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Jonno & I got to Goat Isl,found some nice new rough ground(very late for us,07:30 Sun.)fish already going off the chew,twenty or so throw backs got two nice squire before they shut down,great run back on a glassout morning,cured doggy mack baits were very popular.Cheers Touchy.Webby if you ain't got a towmoblie for your rig next w/end give me a call.><> ><> ><>.
-
Went out Sat arvo & overnight. Thought of making the trip up to Mud - but sounds like it was quiet - but decided to follow some of the tips you guys gave me on my last post and stayed at Wello Point. Started south of the leads and tried to find where the first drain actually drops off into 5m+ of water. Caught fist keeper squire around 38cm in first 10 min or so before I'd had a chance to rebait. However, that was it for daylight hours - although lots of bites from the small peckers. Unusual that I couldn't drum up any pike on the SPs during daylight.
Moved to the edge of the big drop off up toward Huybers beacon just before sunset. Stayed all night listening to the Olympics on the ABC. Managed another keeper squire around 8pm and quiet all night til another keeper on sunrise. I guess I'd found the edge of the reef as you guys suggested because I caught 8 wobbegongs out one side of the boat and 3 shovelnoses out the other side. 3 keeper squire, and a just legal tailor and bream aren't a big return for about 17 hours of fishing, but it's the first time I've ever managed more than two legal squire, so happy with that. Pickers kept removing my floating pillie - did manage one pike that had jagged itself on the gang hooks, so I guess it may have been pike raiding the bait. Managed 10 or so pike on SPs during the night and one of those rosy red fish with the big orange eyes (Red Bullseyes?) also fell to an SP.
One thing I've noted about pike on SPs - have not caught one on a shad style SP - all on 2 inch grubs and it doesn't seem to matter what colour. Must be the tail action that attracts them. Most of the pike I've caught have been within 6 ft of the boat. Just watch them follow the bait in, then tea bag the SP until one of them gets tempted. Just like watching the fish in the tanks you see at fishing shows - you watch them take the bait then lift them over the side. Not sure it's fishing though, but helps keep the bait bill down a little.
Big Al 2