Thread: Manly with SP's - no good

Captian_Zero

Manly with SP's - no good

I thought I would consolidate on my experience with the fishing guide earlier in the week, when I caught my 1st three fish on a softie and try down at Manly around the boat harbour entrance this morning either side of the high tide.

I was using 1/16 oz jigheads and tried a variety of SP's (sizes and colours) with no takers. The best I could do was to get the toadfish and trumpeters in the shallows near my feet to follow them. This was mildly encouraging.

The water was crystal clear and it was a small tide (1.55 metres) so these could all be reasons for my lack of success, not to mention it being Friday the 13th, but I would appreciate any input.

I am determined to persist with the softies.

Re: Manly with SP's - no good

are any mackerel taking lures off the rockwall ?
    a mate of mine caught 20 from the jetty a few weeks ago

Keep trying Chris. Success will come to you. You should keep throwing in the likely places. I did and success came for me, eventually.

yeh i go to a place that i know there are fish. it is a polluted river so i don't keep the fish but it is good practice to find out what works best. now i can venture further afield and try my skills :-)

to me it sound likt the the lures were working too slowly hence the toad fish
    it MAY (or may not) pay to keep the lures working more in mid water by makeing the retrive alittle faster and the other key element to haveing and succese with all lure is to be tossing them into the deepest darkest snags. Sure you will lose a lure or two (or hundreds) but your got to be casting those lure to where the fish are holding up and waiting for pray
    and even after all that we still have fishless day when the fish will just sit there and sulk
    alot of things can go wrong when fishing be that a bar presure or water tem even the wind directon and cloud cover but one thing you must do and that is never give up even when it is really giveing you the shiiiiites

cz i tried of the rockwalls 2 days ago with no succes as well. I then went and fished under the bridge at fishermans island with them and landed some pike to 50 cm. no bream bo's on em but heaps of bites as well

Dylan

Captian_Zero

Thanks guys. I will keep trying and take on board your suggestions.

Dylan - glad to hear it was not just me. I have never fished Fishermans Island. It might be worth a go.

yeah chris give it a try. you cross the tracks and fish under the bridge from the boat ramp side.

heaps of good structure there

Dylan

If your really keen on the soft plastics, head on down to pinkenba boat ramp and walk up past the cement factory and onto the "sunken wall" or the opposite way to "flat head corner" you will probably pick up a nice flathead on sp's.