Thread: Peel Island Today

aquarius

Peel Island Today

Hi Ausfishers,
    Went out today with a mate in his 625 cruise craft.
    Left Redlands ramp at dawn and headed for the house boat wreck at Peel.
    Soft plastics were our only means of catching a fish as my mate fishes with nothing else.
    First drop and before the sp hit the bottom my mate hooked up to a decent fish.....2 minutes into the fight and guess what...the fish spat the hook!!!!!!
    No more hits for half an hours drifting so we then headed further north to fish the shallow reef around the island.
    We spent the rest of the morning casting and following the contours of the ledges......All fishing was done outside the green zone.
    Biggest snapper was 45cm down to 37cm.
    Bought home 3 fish for a feed and threw back quite a few just under size.
    Plenty of annoying pike demolished some of our sp,s but i guess thats part of fishing.
    Going out again tomorrow to try our luck in the same area.
    I'm sure theres some bigger monster snapper just waiting for our plastics.
    Top day out on the water with only the odd boat around.
    No pics today because the skipper got to the fish with a knife before i had time to get my camera out..lol
    Maybe tomorrow if we are lucky.
    Cheers #Brent
    ps.....I DIDN'T KNOW PLASTICS WERE SO MUCH FUN.....GUESS I'M HOOKED NOW!!!!!!

Re: Peel Island Today

good work aquarius
    I have looked for that house boat wreck, ive taken marks off a map
    but Im not sure if i found it ? might have another look another day
    cyah out there

aquarius

Vertico if you line up the beacon with Victoria point you should drift over it.
    Its not far from the beacon to the south.
    If you go inside that beacon towards Peel theres a good little rubble reef with great deep water droppoffs all around it.
    We had heaps of hits in this area today....Pity they were all small stuff but i'm sure on the right day the bigger ones will be lurking around........I reckon the snapper keep moving around in the bay and you have to be in the right place at the right time so to speak.
    Cheers Brent

looking at heading out tomorrow too .I will fish the same or similar area see you out there i will be on my own as no other bastard has the balls to ask for holidays or sickie mid week

thanks for the report.
    i might revisit peel soon.
    cheers.

Sounds like u had a top day and managed a feed of squire , good work mate. DC and I were tossing up ideas on plastics and the bay yesterday like u boys are lookin for the houseboat we are searchin for the cpt nelson in northern bay. Might see u out there one day soon.

Jas

DaneCross

Arrrgg, we be searchn' for the wreck of the Neilson, we hear she went down off Tangalooma and has treasures of red fish all around her [smiley=sick2.gif]

Good luck to you Aquarius on getting out during the week.

I'm still waiting to be totally convinced about SPs. Until a couple of months ago my total catch had been 1 x flathead down the Pin. The Wello Point pike have fixed the problem of not catching fish on SPs, but am yet to catch anything "decent". Have caught a couple of very small squire on 2" grubs and a Red Bullseye last Saturday night. Are you prepared to give any hints on style & colour of SPs you and your mate used and plan to use on your snapper excursions?

In my Wello experiences I've noted the pike are far more attracted to curly tail grubs than shad style SPs - I'd probably give the shads & minnows more of a go if I had confidence they'd attract fish as well, but I normally go back to grubs so I at least catch something.

Big Al 2

aquarius

Hi Big_AL.....Mate the plastics we are using at present are imported from the USA.
    You can buy them from Duncan at Fish head in Redland bay.
    I also tried for the first time today one called a snapback......tough as nails..lol.....even the pike had trouble trying to demolish it..lol
    I have had some luck with the plastics in the deeper water but have yet to refine my technec in the shallow water.
    Its definately and art in its self and heeps of fun when you get it right.
    Cheers Brent

Thanks Aquarius.

Will drop in down that way one day to give Coochie & Peel more of a go

Big Al 2

Well done....SP's are great fun on all types of fish in all depth of water!!!