Thread: Brisbane River

Brisbane River

Hey Guys,

After spending the morning wandering around car yards i got the shits, hooked up the boat and headed to the river, lil bro and ex in tow... anyway we got there to see Archie down there with his class and finally headed off.

We went round the HMAS Ballarat for some pics, then headed up the river to the jetty just past Raptis there, that was a no go because of the bloody exclusion zone around international shit so we headed up to the VISY plant, and spent ages throwing plastics into nothing.

I got so fed up with snags and nothing so we took off back for the ramp... thought we'd missed the location of the HMAS Brisbane so we went back down to colmslie where i saw its nose poking out. We drifted around it taking some pics when the port security chased us away.

The nice suprise for the day was just off the grain plant i saw something popping out of the water... so i looked again and there were 3 Dolphins. I tried to grab the camera but the disapeared before i could get a shot.

It looks like our late arvo basic brissy run thats 10 mins from home is now a thing of the past because of this port security.

Re: Brisbane River

i headed out to fish the river on friday after reading a past article in here on how it may be good to fish .I tried the pylons on the gateway went to take photos of the brisbane and the same reaction you got.I headed out the river to the last beacon still no luck then went to mud and still nothing.I got the next four weeks off and will be going out to try again might see you out there chhers marty

What were you using for bait around the pylons?

I havent fished the river for the past few weeks, but have had good success around the centre pylons using SP's. Numerous squire and tailor, and a few REAL nice flatties.

i was using fresh prawns but i have only tried one type of soft plastic and didnt do well.Perhasps you could help[ me out there are so many to choose from ??Where do i start,and what rig any help greatly appreciated.

I was using 3" Bass Minnows in a Pearl/Watermellon colour but still no luck. I just generally think there were no fish around.

Hey MyTE, we were anchored next to the middle Gateway pylon from about 10am until 1pm on Sunday for a grand total of 2 undersize squire on fresh prawns. We headed up to the Visy wall and then to the sunken wall (more on that later). Think I saw you going up and back a couple of times....

We saw the dolphins as well, there were 2 of them playing around the bridge.

We also went and had a look at the Ballarat and the Brisbane - didn't get chased away ('sif they would have been able to catch us anyway). The guys from Sandgate VMR were there as well having a look.

The blue and red Port Security boat was going up and down the river all day. They didn't bother us at all when we were parked under the gateway.

Did pretty well at our new Spot X on the sunken wall, picked up 6 flatties over 50cm on plastics - biggest went to 65cm. Will definately be going back there again.

Important safety note: As Kingtin said in a post a couple of weeks ago - watch out for that "Tangalooma Wild Dolphin Cruises" cat - the wash from that thing is deadly. We had just pulled in and had the boat on the trailer and off the ramp, but if it had been a couple of minutes earler.... and it hardly makes any noise. It's deadly.

one of the flatties....

Have had most luck on Berkley Gulps and Bass Minnows....watermelon, smelt, pumpkinseed, rainbow.....jigheads used were TT 1/12th and 1/16th, and when current is running 1/8th

G'Day 25 Ponies,

We would have only just gotten there by 1pm but none the less, could have been us.

We didn't even come that close to any of the war ships, we were about 30m away from the markers around the Ballarat so they had no right to say anything.

I tell ya what if anyone wanted to run from that bloody port security boat they could do it pretty easily... she's a bit slow. The saw us do this massive u turn in the river so fired it up and took off after us (we'd done nothing wrong at all) so i got fair up it to full noise and they either dropped off or were considerably slower than us.

Sunken wall? where would that be?

The Visy wall held nothing at all... i've pulled good squire out of the jetty there once and the odd bream but this weekend was just dead.

Don't you hate it when you go motoring past a spot to get to another spot, and the spot you motored to has nothing, and the spot you motored past to get to the spot that had nothing is the spot to be at. ??? ???

Can I ask, were you around the inside of the wall, or the river side? Maybe the next time it is looking a little sus in the bay, I should stop for a go.

Sunken wall? where would that be?
    There was a discussion on here last week about it, but basically it's just around the corner from the Pinkenba ramp. You can't miss it.

Cheech, I was on the river side, but next time I go I'm going to have a look inside and see what it's like.

25 ponies was that bulwer rock wall you are refering to or sunken wall that is marked by the green beacon next to the discharge pipe at luggage point?