-
Ausfish Addict
Making a Father's day offshore Straddie
Gents,
Had the absolute pleasure of taking my dad fishing for Father's Day. I don't get to take him anywhere near as I'd like to and in fact it was his first trip since getting the new boat.
Karma must have played it's part because everything turned out as best as it could be. Weather was stunning - as best I've seen - and the fish were on the chew pretty much all day. Only down side was the loss of half a dozen big fish to bust offs.
Headed to grounds of North Straddie and put 3 squire in the eskie on the first 3 drops. Dad was over the moon already. Ground was pretty small so drifting was a bit hit and miss. Decided to anchor and fish were thick for the next 3 hours or so. Moved to a couple of different positions close by which all produced fish. Decided to have another "look around" and found another good looking bit of ground which produced a maori cod, squire and pearlie for the eskie on one drift. Punched into the GPS for another time.
Keepers were probably in the 1-5 fish boated ratio with a real mixed bag of everything under the sun. Nearly had to stop fishing for pearlies which I've never had happen before.
Finshed the day with a troll past Boat Rock trying to land Dad "The Biggen". Within 15 mins the left rod with one of Rob's blue pillie lures went WACK - doubled in half and nearly snapped - CRACK went the line - and BLOODY HELL DID YOU SEE THAT went Dad and I. Lasted all of 1/2 second.
Went over and checked the rod and the drag seemed fined but the line parted at the top eye which had me thinking the line probably got caught. Probably now a big HOO with a lovely blue pillie and 50 metre of braid running around out of it's gob.
Great Day
Bugman
Here's the man of the moment - Daryl Bugg
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Making a Father's day
One from me and one from him - his best fish.
-
Ausfish Addict
My best fish - his big brothers played havoc on our gear
-
Ausfish Addict
My biggest cod - photo doesn't do it justice
-
Ausfish Addict
My best catch in the new rig
-
Ausfish Addict
Can you believe we were the only boat out there all day - Where was everyone?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Well done Brett good to see.
Wayne
-
Re: Making a Father's day offshore Straddie
thats the sort of weather you want 8) top fishing as well!
have seen the odd diver around boat brett, they would run hard
rob
-
Ausfish Addict
Rob, didn't see any boats or flags around Boat Rock - then again didn't see the bloody thing that hit the lure. I've never seen anything like it. I think I need to take you to get some expert advice - plus i need another blue pillie.
Wayne - good to put a decent catch together for once. 17 keepers all up which is heaps better than I have been doing. The size of the table fish (snapper/pearlies) weren't really there with nothing going over 45-48 cms but the variety was amazing.
Only probs is the 1.5 hour run out there. On the bright side I had cleaned almost all the fish by the time we hit the ramp
PS Craigie - I found a box of hooks, box of swivels and a pair of fisherman's pliers in the boat - I'm guessing they're yours.
-
Brett,
Good to see you got out there with your old man for what appears to have been a great day's fishing.
With these sorts of trips, me thinks you need to ask Santa Claus for a bigger esky come Christmas.
Good on ya bloke.
-
Well done Brett!
Mate thats probably as good a fathers day pressie as he's ever had.
And what a day weather wise.
Theres a couple of very nice Maori's there. Have often found that when you are getting them that size, it often means you are on fairly good ground that hasn't been hit too hard.
Good one, Brett Regards Tony
-
-
-
Brett, let me know how the maouri eats, last one from out there was really fatty! worse than oversize yellabelly new meaning to melt in the mouth ???
keep those marks in hardcopy if you dont, personal exp with gps failing lately backs this up
let me know the dates of the northern trip, have a reccy to do, may see you somewhere along the line! that goes for you to Craig..
-
Brett,
Your GPS is becoming quite valuable with all those fishy marks in it.
Did you fish the "Pearly Patch" west of the WRB ??
Craig.