Making a Father's day offshore Straddie - Page 2

Thread: Making a Father's day offshore Straddie

searaider

Re: Making a Father's day offshore Straddie

Good catch Brett ,
    Top size mouri's & check out the flat conditions in the photo's.
    Looks like the current has dropped out wide , hopefully I'll be following Reel-Job to the Banks this Sat.

Searaider 2

Are you sure you couldn't get the pics any bigger Brett ?

Maori are supposed to the best of the Cods to eat, Rob. not that I eat a lot of Cods.

Well Bugmeister, you certainly gave the old fella ( who looks distinctly like a small version of Hulk Hogan ), a Fathers Day to remember.

ARRRG what weather.
    A lot of us dad's are not ALLOWED to go fishing on fathers day,gotta have brekky in bed ,etc.
    Still i can fish all the rest ,except chrissy and easter day,cheers no worries

As captain Binginton from Mc Hale's navy says, I could just scream

Looked out the back window to glassed out seas, quick trip to the ramp confirmed it too. A late night before put an end to an early morning session on Sunday, had nothing prepared cause it was supposed to be wet. Thought I'd be smart and get some brownie points (double points on fathers day u know) offering to setup inlaws DVD player.

Those pic's look like they are outside too, I could just scream

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Nice Fish there Brett

I was off north straddy on Sunday arvo, jumped into the water with the spear gun and didn't see anything decent to shoot all day. There were lots of mac tuna around ... had about 1000 turn up underneath me. Had a good show of fish on the sounder around middle reef ... lots of bait ... and a couple of big ones lurking underneath the bait Found out that spearing in 15 meters of water is quite challenging!!

Next time I think I will dump the spear gun idea and go back to good old line fishing ... always seem to do better! Have never been a big fan of spear fishing ... and last Sunday confirmed it!

Those Maori cod should be good eating ... just finished devouring one that I caught a few weekends ago when we went out to the banks!

Sam

Rob,

I've got to tell you that both of those Maoris were extremely fatty. Your analogy to a yellowbelly was spot on. I filleted dad's and he wrapped one fillet up in foil with butter etc and cooked on top of the wood heater. He said he couldn't eat it because it went mushy.

I baked mine whole last night and din't use butter but there was probably 1/2inch lick liquid in the bottom of the foil. Made sure not to over cook and as a result left a big fatty line running down the backbone. Flavour was fantastic it though and the guests sure didn't mind.

Sam,

Coming back from Boat Rock towards the bar ran over a very very very big school of baitfish that stretched for 100 metres it seemed. Certainly made the sounder light up. On the way out in the morning before getting to the group we chased littel mac tunas for about 30 mins. They were everywhere but we couldn't get a strike on a variety of lures.

While we were collecting livies at Boat rock a local in his tinny landed a 10+kg Jew - RIGHT BESIDE US.

Craig,

Yeah we anchored very close to that pearly spot (50 metres) but also found a few other patches around the place. I'm guessing they're no secret and anyone could find them but they're safe with me for a while