-
Ausfish Gold Member
Caloundra 12 mile
Fished sunday morning for a few hours. Lack of current didn't help our cause for berlying up the snapper. Got 7 average squire, 2 schoolies and 2 bonito. Baits were getting to the bottom straight under the boat with no lead on and the berly was sinking straight down. Fished from 5am to 7am and the most action was as soon as we got there. Dawn is getting alot earlier every week, so might have to set the alarm clock for a couple of hours earlier. Snapper might be tappering off on the shallows, so its back to the deep water (and big fuel bills). We have really enjoyed fishing close in with light gear and heaps of berly. Looks like the mackeral are starting to come in. A few pros starting to troll the local haunts for a few fish. Lets hope for another season like last year! Tony
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Caloundra 12 mile
The days total. Photos were taken at curramundi on the way home. We had a troll there for one hit and miss.
-
G'day Perko,
Not a bad catch for a mornings fishing.
The Schoolies look to be better than average size
Craigie.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Craige, schoolies were solid fish, which made up for the lack of size in the snapper.
-
perko, good feed mate all the same! what type of boat ya fishing out of there mate?...foxy
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Foxy, our boat is a 5.5 sailfish cat with 70 johnos. We have done most of our fishing in a 5.2 kevlacat we owned for 5 years. But it was getting pretty worn so we sold it off and bought the Sailfish. Had it for about 5 months and very happy with its performance so far. It is just as good as the Kevlacat but with some more room and lighter to tow. Next boat will be something like you have got, but that will be a few years away. I will attach a few photos.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Good catch there Tony and nice looking rig. It is great when the shallow reefs pay off. Won't be long before the mackeral show up in numbers which is another good option when going wide isn't possible.
-
i can see my boat in the background , behind the yachts..
-
nice haul of fish perko... it's great to see a few macks turning up already. it's feels like not so long ago that everyone was cleaning up on macks.
-
Good catch there perko. Just wondered if your a local up that way, if so i'll keep in touch on how the mackeral are progressing.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Spaniard, I am just about a local. My parents live at kawana and we leave our boat there. Fish there most good weather, and my dad fishes some weekdays and is mates with a few mackeral pros. He visits the ramp daily and keeps up with the local gossip. We chase spaniards and spotties alot so keep in touch. Where abouts do you come from?
-
I live down at burpengary. I've done a lot of mackeral work up north and want to start chasing them down here a bit more.