Thread: The Verminator Makes It To Moreton

The Verminator Makes It To Moreton

Finally got to Moreton at 6am this morning. Nice smooth 45 min trip over from Shorncliffe to the 4 beacons. On arrival was greeted by an awesome site........a whale surfaced at the side of the boat then dissapeared for a couple of minutes. resurfaced in a tremendous leap and 10 minutes of tail wagging before it dissapeared again. Too gobsmacked to grab the camera until it was too late. Crapping myself wondering if it would resurface from under the boat :-) managed to grab one shot as it swam away.

Re: The Verminator Makes It To Moreton

Started jigging for livies and immediately got into some yakkas. The first pull was hit by something big and up came half a yakka with teeth marks on the remaining piece. Put out a livie and was hit within 5 mins but result was a break-off on 30lb line. The I hit the vermin. Notice the damage marks on the back

The picture doesn't do it justice but it was a big bugger and took 20 minutes to boat. Another pic of the damage and it also has a torn flap which doesn't show so well on the pic. Whatever hit it was *big*

Another hit on a large occy fished on a 10/0 resulted in another bust off as it made for the legs of the beacon. Went dead at slack water so decided to fish shark spit for a coupel of hours which resulted in various multi-coloured types of fish, the like of which I hadn't seen before and all non-takers. Plenty of sandies there. Returned to the beacons when the tide started running with no results other than this bugger which broke me off after 20 minutes and was promptly caught again by my mate within 5 minutes.......now it has two hooks to contend with! And they reckon they feel pain? Oh and yes! More bloody catfish......what the F*** are they doing over there!?

Wind blew up at 2pm and headed for home in a lumpy sea. Not much to show for the days fishing other than an ample supply of yakkas and baitfish which have the appearance of a large herring but the shape of a sardine...never seen them before? Probably didn't do that well as we spent most the time buggering about with Whales, big stingies and turtles. Positive vibe is that I now feel more adventurous knowing that the rig will stand rough conditions and I hope to get out there more often.

looks like you had fun atleast Kev those whales are great but even better when they aint under the boat

jeff

Quote Originally Posted by propdinger
    looks like you had fun atleast Kev those whales are great but even better when they aint under the boat

jeff
    Maybe I'm just a wuss Jeff, but I tell you, it's a bloody eerie feeling when they're so close and then they just go and all that's left is silence and you, wondering where they are. I blame me mum for taking me to see Moby Dick when I was a kid :-)

...good one kev....
    Do we start calling you Captain Ahab now?

I prefer 'The Verminator'

lmao Kev

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    I prefer 'The Verminator'

lmao Kev

"I'll Be Back" :-)

The Verminator/ater

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    The picture doesn't do it justice but it was a big bugger and took 20 minutes to boat. Another pic of the damage and it also has a torn flap which doesn't show so well on the pic. Whatever hit it was *big*
    Big? Might have been that whale Kev.

Have you got stingrays and sharks painted on the bottom of your boat or something.
    Something has got to be attracting them.
    I reckon I have only caught about 2 stingrays one shovelly and 3 sharks in the bay in the last 3 years.
    I dont know whether turtles feel pain or not, but I am sure they are pretty stupid. [smiley=dizzy.gif] [smiley=dunce.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by SeaHunt

Big? Might have been that whale Kev.

Have you got stingrays and sharks painted on the bottom of your boat or something.
    Something has got to be attracting them.
    I reckon I have only caught about 2 stingrays one shovelly and 3 sharks in the bay in the last 3 years.
    I dont know whether turtles feel pain or not, but I am sure they are pretty stupid. [smiley=dizzy.gif] [smiley=dunce.gif]
    Perhaps that's why they're attracted to me, mate :-)

Big baits do it for me with regards to what I catch, I reckon........that, and 6 others fishing must make a pretty good berley slick with all that bait in the water :-) Mud bottom for stingies and catfish and a clean bottom for the extra big shovellies. Never caught much at all with pillies or strip bait, but large squid or occy seems to put me on 'em everytime. My supply has dried up so I mightn't be reporting vermin so much in future :-)

Ur a dead set classic kev!! The verminator!!! Atleast ur on the water mate not like some of us

Well done and i klnow cobes love thos beacons!!

Quote Originally Posted by bazzaman
    Ur a dead set classic kev!! The verminator!!! Atleast ur on the water mate not like some of us

Well done and i klnow cobes love thos beacons!!
    So do I *now*! I forgot to mention that when we got back to the ramp there was this guy and his missus in a 22ft tri-hull that looked like a canyon runner...but it wasn't.... he'd shipped it over from S Africa. Plenty of money there! He got it onto the trailer all on his own whilst his missus looked on. He said he'd seen us over there and moved onto our spot when we left for shark spit. He'd pulled a 40 kilo cobe and put it back! I was spewin'! He wasn't the kind of bloke to bullshit either. Never knew they went that big *inside* Moreton!

Shorncliffe to the beacons 45 mins.......my usual haunt of Amity or Chain Bank......35 minutes drive to Manly and 25 minutes out. To Bribie, 45 mins drive and whatever time out. Guess where I'll be fishin' in future? :-)