Thread: Golden Beach 16/10/04

Golden Beach 16/10/04

Fished off a pontoon today. Just for kicks.

1 hour each side of low tide.

2 herring in the net, heaps jigged.

1 big hit, couple of nibbles. Pulled in a 60cm flatty.

It was windy, it was choppy (glad I left the boat at home) looks like a storm is coming, I hope so.

I think I spotted Black_Rat on the water. But I'm only going by the cool marlin pinstriping.

Re: Golden Beach 16/10/04

g'day mini696,
    good result with the flattie mate. just wondering what jigs you use, and where you get the herring around there. also, how do you bait em up on the hook? anyway well done given the conditions!

cuzza

mini- what pontoon at golden beach?? or was this in pelican waters?

The Military Jetty perhaps?

Sorry guys I meant Pelican waters. The one opposite the fish and chip shop over the bridge. Its a very populour spot with the local kids. I wasn't expecting much because there are always so many people. But because of the conditions not many turned up (or stayed long if they did).

The herring (I'm sure they are herring, they have a little black tip to their dorsal). I got them from the end of the pier they were too deep for the net so the jig worked better. They kept moving so I just walked around till I got a couple. The jig I use is a cheapo $3.00 one I got ages ago. Its got little plastic V shaped things in front of the hooks. I'm sure you all seen them before.

I bait the herring on the hook with a running sinker on the main line, swivel, leader, main hook through the nose, and a treble down low further down (near the cordal??/anal fin). I much prefer to use mullet for this setup if I can catch them.

I was busy yesterday morning building myself a burley pot and aerator for my esky so I wanted to test them both out. The esky works well but wasn't field tested because I would need to lug around a 12V battery (Its designed for the boat). And the burley pot needs more holes. Otherwise I'm happy with both.

On a side note I caught a couple of undersized whiting and flathead under the anchored hire boats in the cast net too. Not suprising, but there you go...

top catch mini
    there are a few good flatties around and the herring seem to be doing the trick well done

Daniel

The only noteable fish I've caught lately have been flatheads.

Plenty of flathead around golden beach