-
Fishing for Spanish Mackerel at 1770
This report is a little long and belated.
As some of you know, I had plans to visit 1770/Agnes Waters on the fed. election w/e after receiving an offer to join some friends aboard a 38 ft game cruiser and chance to do some fishing and snorkeling around the Bunker Group of islands. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances, this plan did not come to fruition, but I decided to go and have a couple of days up there anyway and see what I could snag from the shore.
After declaring my intentions on the site I received an unexpected and very generous offer to stay with fellow ausfish member Roz and her other half Tony, whilst up at Agnes Waters. An offer that I gratefully accepted and would like to thanks them for once again. To say that I was amazed and blown away by what I saw over the three days I was up there is an understatement.
The strong winds that plagued many of us brisbane based fishos over the election w/e followed me up north unfortunately, and so any offshore action looked to be off the cards with a constant 20 knot SE'erly blowing whitecaps across the bar at 1770. This was probably a blessing in disguise however, as it forced me to explore the area that looks set to become the next Noosa, with the likes of Grant and Lisa Curry-Kenny about to commence a 50 million dollar beachside subdivision and the Outrigger Apartments also commencing works on stage 1 of a massive beachfront development.
So on the Monday, armed with a tinny and 8hp outboard, Roz, Tony & I drove for 45 mins through Eurimbula National Park to eventually reach the campsite at Middle Ck. We spent 5 hours motoring around, from the mouth across the shallow flats and several kms up the mangrove lined creek that had jack country written all over it. The weed in the water proved to be a major nuisance since we were trolling little HB lures. Nevertheless we managed a little GT further up the creek and were even able to net a monster mud crab that was hunting on along the shore line as the tide was receding. Pity it turned out to be a jenny!
The next day, with the wind still 15-20 knots from the SE, we decided to try trolling around round hill head but after copping the washine machine treatment for a couple of hours, due to the SE slop, we gave it away and headed inland again and to explore the other national park. Deepwater NP was even prettier and had several waterways running through it, the most significant of which is Baffle Ck. It was here that we decided to have look around and flicked some HB lures in an attempt to snag a MJ. Shore bound Roz and I flicked lures along the mangrove lined banks and lots of rocky structure but didn't manage any fish. The action was slow but at least there was no weed to worry about.
The decision was made that night over a beer and a feed of pizza at the 1770 store, that we would brave the conditions the following morning and after seeing the forecast of 10-15 knots, the trip to chase some spanish mackerel off Bustard Head at the crack of dawn was ON.
Conditions the following morning were near perfect and after crossing the bar we reached Outer Rock some 45 mins later. As we got there we encountered two massive green turtles engaging in some reproductive exercise which was an incredible sight to see, even if I did feel like a pervert and a voyeur. It was then that I noticed that no matter where I looked, birds were working schools of mactuna, mackerel and tons of baitfish in amongst it all.
It was decided to troll dead slimies in the hope of picking up some spaniards. Both baits were hit as soon as they entered the water, and that surprised both Roz and I, hence neither of us managed to stay connected. Whilst we re-rigged up, we decided to troll a couple of rapala lures and it wasn’t long before my drag started to scream. A nice 7-8 kg spanish mackerel was gaffed shortly after by Roz and shortly after found it's way into the fiberglass coffin. My first ever spanish mackerel on a lure and a PB for that species to boot. The lures were replaced by a couple of fresh slimies shortly after. Another pass and the rods went off again. We ended up with four fish for the morn, all in the 7-8 kg category with no rogue monster macks caught, but a fun morning all the same.
My other highlight of the day was, after we ran out of bait, tagging and releasing my first ever fish. We decided to cast slugs at the schools of fish that had been circling the boat for most of the day and after a couple of throws I hooked up on 3-4 kg stubborn little mactuna which was eventually succumbed on 6 kg line, tagged and released soon afterwards.
The hour-long trip back into the SE slop seemed like a 10 min trip after a morning like that, and now it’s spanish mack for breakky, lunch and dinner!!!!
Apologies to Tony (Agnes_Jack) whom I didn't get a chance to see at his tackle store but I'll hopefully be up there again this coming w.e. so will definately say hello this time round.
Perhaps I'm in love or maybe just addicted! What do you mean I have a problem!!! Just love it up there
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Fishing for Spanish Mackerel at 1770
Damn good report mate but bloody hard to read . Looks like the width of the pic has dragged the text to about two pages across ? Have you downloaded Irfanview yet to resize your pics so they are screen size . It's dead easy and you will get more interest in your posts . Just say the word if you would like some instructions .
-
Sounds like a good few days up there. Me and a mate camped at Middle creek for five days a couple of months ago, and it's a magical place. Pity the fishing wasn't the best when we were there. There's always a next time though.
David
-
-
-
-
Well done herby, i was dreaming of all the reefies and pelagics as i passed the 1770 turn off sign at 6pm last night on way bak from awoonga...
-
-
G'day Herbie
Was wondering what happened to you!
Sounds like you had a fairly good time, some nice country up this way eh?
Its probably a good thing that you had the chance to lok around a bit and see what we have on offer up here. Bustad is very reliable for the macks, usually a few around there. All the headlands are firing at the moment, heaps of pelagics getting caught.
I'm heading off after some jacks when I finish work this arvo, with the stormy weather happening it just might be a goer!!!
See ya next time! Regards, Tony
-
But the turtles are horny and under-sexed. Obviously!!!
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
What the #&%*$ happened !! Herbie I kid you not your post was twice as wide after you posted it and I replied . Now it is normal size . As I saw it just after you posted it maybe the site software auto - resized it cause I have changed nothing at my end . Makes great reading now .
-
Top stuff Herby !!!
Bring on the Spainards !!!
My crew head up to 1770 this saturday for a week, I'm getting as excited as "Shagging Turtles" thinking about it.
So many fishing options, so little time
Craig.
-
-
Herbie,
Where did you get the slimies? Am interested in having a go at chasing some of those spaniards myself. Have never caught one - usually too busy chasing reefies up there.