Thread: marlin on the bar!! 1770

marlin on the bar!! 1770

Couldn't wait for the reef fish closure to end any longer!
    Headed out thru the bar at 1770 this morning to be greeted by about a half a metre of swell and a sloppy wind chop.
    As we hadn't had a fish for a week or so we decided to carry on and see if the mackeral and longtails would perform for us.
    Took a few missed hits on the trolled lures, but after about an hour and a half nothing in the boat. We decided to do one more run around the headland and then head to the bait grounds and then to the trawler wreck to see if we could stir a few up out wider.
    On the last run past the headland we went right in close and turned around just outside the bar. We got no more than 300m from the bar and took a good solid hit from a small marlin
    around the 40-50kg mark. Only had him on for a few seconds, but it was great to see him leap and head thrash before throwing the hooks.
    There has been a heap of reports of small marlin in close lately, but this was the first we have seen so close to shore. Peter Stevens (sportfish charters) landed one yesterday, and had another boatside this morning.
    After the marlin excitement we headed out to the trawler wreck and spent about 2 hours playing with the trevally on Snapbacks, heaps of fun! A few times there I hooked up to trevally, only to have them swallowed by the massive cod that lives in the wreck. You get your trevally about half way up then get slammed by a freight express back to the bottom, where you are enevitably busted up amongst the schrapnel.
    A bit more trolling but all we could manage was a few mack tuna.
    All in all a good fun morning at 1770!

Re: marlin on the bar!! 1770

hrmm... whats the weather doing up there this weekend
    gotta get up there!! these bills close to shore are the go!!

CHRIS_aka_GWH

how very ordinary that 1770 joint is eh

Sure is!!!!!!!
    Don't know why anyone would want to live here!

Regards, Tony

CHRIS_aka_GWH

stop rubb'n tony, it hurts enough already.

tony
    how does the weather look for next week ???
    "whats the time"

G'day tony,I'll be up there 13/14/15-11-04 with 3 others and a boat this time.
    Any thing happening at the catwalk laterly
    See ya soon
    Tez

Tony,

We've already booked back in for the week Nov 27 to Dec 5.

Looking for a house this time to take a couple of more people with us. I'm unsure whether I can get another diver to come with me so would you be up for a trip to a couple of the wrecks for a swim. Needless to say a fishing trip is also on offer if you are available.

Sounds good mate! No holidays then so should be right to come for a play!
    I look forward to it!

Regards, Tony

G'day Tez
    Yeah stacks of action on the catwalk, been good spanish most mornings as well as a few longtails, watsons bonito, mack tuna etc.
    With the marlin hanging in so close there is always a chance of hooking one of them off the stones too.
    It usually just gets better over the next few weeks too. Would be expecting the butterflys to turn up before then, a sure sign of action!

Regards, Tony

Snappa
    Looks like it will blow over the weekend, but should come good about monday.
    Not sure how long that will last though
    Should be getting a better idea tommorrow.

Regards, Tony

G'day agnes_jack,suddenly figured that Graigie is one of the boys coming with me as well as you might remember tiny
    aka;the winch,has the penny droped who I am.
    I'd like to score a blackie off the stones,that would make the guys on "sportfishextreme" very jealous as they will'nt get a taste of bill for a few more months around sydney

Cheers Tez

g'day agnes_jack,

soumds like youre carving em up out there. good to see you pull some jhacks in a few weeks ago. thanks for the rod advice too. all the best.

cuzza

Hmmmmm!
    I reckon I know who you are Terry?
    The time is right for a blackie off the rocks mate! Apart from the one that hit us on the bar the other day, there was also about 8 hits in the same spot a week or so ago!
    A few have been hanging around the bait grounds and also on the 9 mile and some reports from around bustad head. There has been some good action around the headland with spanish, BIG schoolies, and longtails as well. The watsons bonito seem to be around most mornings.
    So I guess we'll be seeing you real soon #

# # # # # # #Regards, Tony

Awesome tony, seems the marlin are on thier way down [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

How about some 100pd braid next time so we can have a look at this monster from the deep