Thread: broadwater 24-10-04

broadwater 24-10-04

Considering the forecast sunday was an absolute pearler bl**dy BOM. Headed to Spot X at 4am sunday morning and started jigging plastics and drifting a few livies about. Morning started with a bang with 2 high 50cm flatties within 2 mins of each other on the first drift. Worked around the area and then out to crab Is during the runout ended up with a nice feed for the mornings effort. The small flatty on top of the rest went 43cm. Also got a bit of bycatch on a herring fillet that bought a look to the faces of the 2 young kids being towed around on a ski tube that bought tears to the eyes if only I could have got a photo the photo should give a fair clue to SpotX

Matty
    Bycatch photo to follow

P.S I know the date on the camera is wrong and no I didn't have a sickie on thursday

Re: broadwater 24-10-04

Bycatch

hrmm... i would be targetting the sharks and catching the lizards as by catch

gday matty
    nice haul of lizards there mate and thanks 4 the clue to spot x i got a nice parrot around the other side of the island a
    while ago
    dean

Ausfish Premium Member SCOTTYGC's Avatar

where do you get your lives from ?
    i can almost see my place in that pic
    scotty

Well done matt, nice feed there. Betcha that by-catch was fun on the light gear. Sunday was a pearler of a day, i was watchin the bird action off cabarita beach and thinking "dammit, why arnt i fishing" ???

Jeffo was fishingg for a feed on sunday but will definatly be chasing them a bit more often now.

Dean, yeah would have to be my favourite place on the coast and certianly attracts the reef fish caught a legal squire about 50m west of the photo a couple of months ago.

Scotty, get my livies around the brige pylons or at the"pontoon"

JB, yeah mate went like a bloody zirtec the old boy hooked it on 20lb braid, we were chasing it around with the leccy and got taken to the backing more than once were you chasing waves a cabba? if so what are the banks down there like these days?

Matty

Matty,
    some nice Lizards there! What/where is the "pontoon" and how do you catch your livies?

Blue

Hi Blue Escape,

The pontoon is a large floating jetty that holds plenty of bait pretty consitently as most do I suppose. To catch them I use a cast net. The main species we get is herring at this spot and they respond to bait jigs as well but it can take a while .

Matty

"went like a zirtec" lmao!!

Ausfish Premium Member SCOTTYGC's Avatar

is that the new pontoon at p point?

Hey, flattymattyb, are they duskies? I thought the bag limit was 5 pp ?

There was 2 ppl in the boat mate

Oops.. Sorry Matty ... should've worked that out from the noah photo! (I've never been too bright )

Just over protective of my favourite species !!

Hi fishframe,

No worries mate yeah like JB said 2 in the boat so was all good. It is not that often that we keep a feed just every now and then you can't go past a feed of fresh flatty fillets.

Matty