Pumicestone Passage Fishing Bonanza.

Thread: Pumicestone Passage Fishing Bonanza.

Nicko

Pumicestone Passage Fishing Bonanza.

With a fine day upon us, and calm NW winds I headed off on my way up to Bribie Island from my home in SE Brisbane around 6:00am. Reaching my destination which is the boat ramp next to the air sea rescue shortly after 7:00am.
    I setup my 12" tinnie and rigged up a 1/16oz jighead on my new 'Currently a angling Virgin' rod, which is a ian miller 7'0" squidgey bass rod with a daiwa samarai-3i-1500. I fished the rising king tide right up till when it peaked at 9:34am. Equipping my lead ball jig with a #3 squidgey in the gary glitter colour I travelled out to the main land side of the bridge to try my luck. It was amazing, the water was so clean and it being quite shallow there I could actually see yellow fin bream in their natural habitat thriving in this healthy esturine system. But catching bream wasn't the plan today, with rod in hand I grabbed my water bottle and had a drink to quench my thirst when suddenly I saw a huge SPLASH. There were about 6 large fish smaking down schools of bait fish. I said to myself, 'TIME FOR SOME SPOT FISHING'. Next huge splash happened near a bridge pylon and I casted right into it, worked the jig for 3 seconds and BAM. I was onto a pretty nice fish, using the drag system to my advantage was a great fight. Pulled in a 33cm Scad on that gary glitter squidgey. I quickly chucked my line back in and after a few more casts was onto a 25cm Yellowtail.
    After that bit of thrilling action it died down a bit so I travelled up to my secret spot up Ningi Creek, didn't catch anything there but I saw massive jumps of large fish again feeding on schools of bait fish. I hunted them down trying to hook up to one, or two... But it didn't happen with the ningi creek fish. I must say tho, If you ever head out to Pumicestone passage, take some time to travel down the inner reachs of ningi creek, simply amazing. Travelling between floating mangroves through a gap no larger then a large gas cylinder at a servo. Was breath taking, once I was in amongst it all it didn't feel like I was fishing Bribie Island area, felt like some inner creek up top end.

But anyway, I drove off bought some fresh local prawns with tartar sauce and ate em on the beach whilst gutting the fish I caught earlier. Using the salty water as seasoning, yum yum. Then I had a quick dip in crystal clear waters.

After this I drove back up to the same spot under the bridge were I caught those fish first up. This time using a #3 Silver Fox squidgey, hooked up to another 25cm Yellowtail. It was amusing cause there were a few other boats in the area them using bait and it didn't look like they were having much luck. I come along first cast and catch a nice starter. Few drifts later I hooked up to a 35cm Scad, Honestly best fight i've ever had cause I was using light gear and not just cranking it in with drag strong. I was using my gear to my advantage, very pleased when I got that beauty in the boat.

After that I called it a day and luckily so, cause a strong shower had ripped through right after I had my boat back up on the trailer. Happy that I wasnt wet, I grabbed some lunch and then drove back home.

AWESOME AWESOME Day.

Ausfish Platinum Member Cloud_9's Avatar

Re: Pumicestone Passage Fishing Bonanza.

sounds like a nice day for you.
    Cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

Well done Nicko, softies will outfish bait anyday as far as i'm concerned..

Good onya Nick, you had me there with the huge splash comment, was ready to hear youd been spooled by a 20kg bluefin LOL. I reckon youd have to be one of the more excitable fishos around, never a dull moment by the sounds. you gotta chase some spotties in the shipping channel soon!

Onya Nick Keep at it mate.