Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Bribie Jack and Grunter

Fisher_Boats

Re: Bribie Jack and Grunter

Nice one DC

if you saw the head you would have no doubt, but even then the spots and the elongated looks gives it away as a small mouthed gunter unlike the spotted javelin fish which has a narlier looking head and pink/magenta hues above the lateral line. the gunter end at about hervey bay and only grow to around 3kg where as the javelinfish grows to over 10kg, bream fight well if you catch them over a kilo on light line.
    good jack, i wish people would hold the fish against their body instead of outstretched armed, so you get a real ideal to the size. i think a can of coke against a fish gives the best size scale indication.
    darn good fish and a tribute to the dpi for banning pro-netting of the pumicestone passage! few more years we might see some good sized jews again. wonder if the same could be achived with the caboolture and pine rivers??
    damon

nice jack and other fish tooo. to respond to dane. the more grunting the better i recon

Dylan

Hi Damon the jack was 2.2kgs and 540mm long sorry if I held it out too far maybe I was excited cause it was a good fishy
    if the grunters end at hervey bay how come we catch so many in the passage ???

Jay

Jay aka....
    The Grunta Hunta. [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=devilish.gif]
    The Jack's a ripper to mate. well done, i'd frame that shot.
    When are you going back to school so the rest of us fisho's stand a better chance???

onya jay
    whats dad like with the net mate ?.looks like he'll be gettin plenty of practice
    cheers scott

definitely javelin fish - very nice jack

DICER

I call them for Javelin fish too, plenty of them in the passage lately

Fisher_Boats

Hey Scotty least we been getting a few

Col

well , thats the answer/s i am looking for...on closer inspection of the enlarged photo . yep , i see it now .
    I could not see the spots on the dorsal fins , nor the elongated nose .
    can't say i have ever caught one on my light tackle wonderings of the creeks and canals ..
    Will know what i am looking at now atleast .

and yes , didn't say it before , but i will now ...thats is a nice Jack Jay !!!! well done ! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

col,
    ease up, scotty has been getting plenty of striped tuna

Hi All,

saw the pics of what you are calling grunter or javelin fish, the pic here is of a Javelin or grunter caught in the Hinchinbrook Channel a couple of years ago by a mate, it looks different to your javelin.

THE BOMBER

Bomber,
    I'd say it's just the pics mate. The fish we caught where grunter bream (or javelin)
    As I said before I'll click some pics straight after we catch them next time and hold them up so you can see the head.
    Col

i have caught heaps of them at Maroochydoore, i know they are grunters because when u pull them out and grab em they start grunting, like catfish but louder...
    Cheers to all

Good catch there Jay
    Ripper jack and nice GRUNTER
    Maybe its not where your fishing but the boat your catching it from that has given you the success.
    Cheers Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.