Thread: Green Island

Green Island

Headed out to Green Island Midnight Saturday Night 15/01/05

Caught a nice Grass Sweety at 40 cm & heaps of bust offs on the reef.

Caught alot of Snapper at 29 - 30 cm all went back in.

Nice and flat out there,despite what the weather reports stated.

Re: Green Island

Ahh, the old faithful Green Island. I always reckon that if you can't catch a fish there, then put the boat away. Green would have to be one of the most under-rated spots in the Bay. Yes, you do see a lot of boats there. But, most of them, particularly those doing the "dayshift thing" are just taking the wife and/or kids out for a little fish. When fished at the right time in the right conditions (cold, flat, still mid-week winter nights are the best) Green Island can really turn it on. It's not hard to go through 2 or 3 kilos of Pillies in a session. There are a lot of undersize fish there, but, if you put in the time and effort, big Snapper are not uncommon. The best thing is that it's only a short run from Manly or Wello, which makes it perfect for the smaller boats and it doesn't burn up heaps of fuel and it seldom makes for an overly late night when fishing in the evening. You won't fill your esky there, but there are good returns for the effort and small expense you'd put in.

NICK.

Re: Green Island

Hey Bignick,
    Where is the best place to fish over at green isl. I've heard of a hole on the eastern side that provides fish sometimes