Coral Trout, Peel Island, Moreton Bay

Thread: Coral Trout, Peel Island, Moreton Bay

Aaron_Fogarty

Coral Trout, Peel Island, Moreton Bay

Gday Lads
    Took the old man for a sunset fish on the western side of peel island and he landed a 37cm coral trout on a pillie and a 4/0 hook. The fish was released and a few questions were asked about water temperature and how far south the trout go.
    If theres little ones theres big ones!
    Regards Aaron

Re: Coral Trout, Peel Island, Moreton Bay

Heya Aaron, nice little surprise for your old man catching a trout at peel it's always good fun to catch something out of the ordinary.

I got a 4kg red emporer behind green island (moreton bay) years ago but it is the only one in all my travels in the bay and the only one I have heard of from green.

Be nice if you could find more and bigger trout in the area.

Aaron_Fogarty

Straddie
    Ive been bricked there many times by big fish. Whos to say they aren t big trout, That same afternoon Dad was bricked using 35lb torture.
    Regards Aaron

aquarius

G'day Aaron, I know of a couple of coral trout been caught a few weeks ago on the western side of Peel.
    I reckon you are right the bigger ones must be there too!!!
    Only problem is extracting them from the coral reef..lol
    Cheers Brent

spear gun perhaps ? heh

there is quite a few trout caught each year at caloundra 12 mile and currimundi reef so i cant see any reason they wouldnt stray a bit further south to the bay.

Yeah Aaron, My last trip to Goat produced a lovely little trout, was a real supprise. Touchy.><>.

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Aaron,

Shame your trout was just shy of legal size, but certainly an interesting capture all the same.

I've included a pic of a Wire Netting Cod we caught at Goat Is in June last year.

Moreton Bay still has a few surprises up her sleeve 8) 8)

Craig.

Never seen a legal trout, or red emperor yet, but have caught legal red throats in the rous.

NeilD

Some fish just don't know where they are supposed to be. A mate of mine (Ratman) caught a Barramundi Cod along a rock wall in the Broadwater. I picked up a 15.5kg Spaniard off Green late in May a few years back. I have seen trout speared around Peel in the late seventies.

Ausfish Platinum Member devocean's Avatar

Dont thnk you can use a spear gun at peel island. Do you know aht type of trout it was or is caught around that area?

I think Dan Stead from TT lures got a legal one on a SP going for Squire around Peel not too long ago. For unusual captures there have been a few published photos of little Red Emporer caught on bait jigs and stuff like that over the years.

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

I also vaguely remember Glen Baker (from Bush n beach) catching a legal trout at Peel a few years back. It may have even made the cover of the Mag ??

Craigie.

G'Day Guys

Well my surprise catch in Moreton Bay was last year when I landed a small Red Emperor just North of MacLeay Island. I've caught them off Point Lookout, but never inside the bay before (and none since)

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Red emps are really quiet a common fish in the bay, there used to be lots of small ones around curtain, thats a long way down the bay though Tony!