Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Pinkenba

Re: Pinkenba

hi folks...
    my first post....
    Well today I went out to the boatramp at pinkenba....I have fished out this way a few times...well not as far as i went today. I thought I would go in search of the sunken wall...
    High tide was 2pm and i think i got to the bait shop at at around 3 and bought the last of the fresh prawns and 2 fresh mullet fillets.$4.80....cheap and fresh ...
    I drove off into the grassy feild and parked the car near the cement factory and with my small baitcaster and bucket walked under the cement factories ramp that goes over the rockwall and kept on going..following the rockwall.I kept on walking, thinking It was good that the tide was going out, but I was still a bit worried about the wake of one of the larger boats that passed causing problems...but it was all good....so I walked until I was about 15-20 meters from the end of the wall and cast out a few prawns...it was quite a walk , but an interesting one .......
    About the third cast I hooked up and it was a fighter...I figured it for a bream and a decent one, but to my surprise it looked like a bream except it had a pinkish sheen and little coloured spots....it was about 30cm and i took a photo with me phone
    I was really happy....and let the fish go.I later found out it was a baby snapper....a squire.....I had never caugt one and was happy it was a nice size.....a few casts later i caught a smaller one....
    I changed my bait to the fresh mullet and caught an undersize bream.....lots of fun...
    I decided to head back as the tide was getting lower and I was out of time...although I was really keen to go to the end of the rockwall, which I think would only be possible at low tide and see what was around there...Id imagine a few lizards or at least a pike eal...as i have caught a few of them at low tide in the river of at least a metere in length...quite fun to catch...
    anywayz
    I will try and attach the picks i took.....I will be going out there again for sure and for a longer amount of time..I think on an outgoing tide at dusk and into the night would be pretty good....
    I dont think I would be too comfortable out there on a high high tide and it would probably be dangerous..but if ya head out there right on hide tide during the arvo and fished the outgoing ..you would get a good idea of the area and catch some fish for sure..

looks like i can only attach one pic so thats the juvenile snapper....wish id kept it now...

and here is the picture of the bream i caught 15-20cm..i think its a bream anyway..looks a bit spikier then the small yellowfin bream I have seen around the pine river..
    As you all can see from the pics ..they are very healthy for the area..hehehe...
    I would imagine that most of these fish come in and out with the tide and would be fine to eat....
    Although I have caught some kind of perch like fish over the otherside of the river that had blisters on em...so they weren't too healthy, but at the same time i caught a a 40cm estuary cod...which was really healthy and I was again amazed that so many different species could be caught around here...

another pic of the snapper

ya wouldn't want this passing on a high tide
    i guess ya could climb a tree..

Beasta

Great work mate. Fantastic when a plan comes together eh ?

I checked out the wall myself on Sunday morning. Sounds like
    I went about as far as you.

I did'nt stay long enough to throw a line though.
    Send me a pm next time you're going and I'll tag along.

Friday's paper had an article about jacks also being caught
    there.

Like to have a red hot go at that !

Quote Originally Posted by Girella
    Friday's paper had an article about jacks also being caught
    there.

Like to have a red hot go at that !
    It's Jack Time!!! You could cast net a heap of livies around the beach at the ramp very easily! Whack one of them on.... Yeeha!

If anyones going to chase jacks there, I'll be in on that!

I fished the beach next to the ramp at about 8pm last Thursday night. 3 small whiting. Threw out a live bait as well, but got nothing.

I did get a little scared though when the mozzies started lifting me up and trying to fly off with me though!

I'm planning to take the tinnie to the wall early Friday morning.

I'm gonna throw everything at it (livies, SP's, hard-bodies, and mullet strips) and see what happens.

See you there.

sounds good to me Girella, a fully armed assault on the sunken wall, mate let us know how you go!!!!

Girella,

as much as I wish you great fishing...I do hope it's as dead as a dodo.....

I went out before sunrise.... couldnt decide... Shorncliffe/pinkenba.. shorncliffe/pinkenba...... ahhh what the heck... let's head out to Shorncliffe.

and it was boooooooooring. not a single decent bite off the pier..... popped over to the creek... where junior was happily chsing toadfish (at least it kept him busy)...and I caught a catfish.

eew-worms, Try going to the river just beside the pier. The channel is within a small cast distance. There is a strip of sand along the bank, and this drops off deep really quickly.... Soft Plastics fished over that (Bouncing down the sand drop) is a killer on Flathead there! You can also cast out half a pilchard on a hook (Or a whole one on a gang) unweighted into the middle of the channel.

If all else fails, then maybe the hand grenade in your picture might help!

Heaps of squire around the brissy river, but just be careful, as legal size is 35cm

Quote Originally Posted by beefaman
    Heaps of squire around the brissy river, but just be careful, as legal size is 35cm #
    Where you been cathing them beefaman?

Around the pylons of the gateway, out the front near the cement factory, and any of the deeper holes between both places. The bridge is good on a high tide, just been bouncing SP's for them and getting a few. Along with lizards and schoolies

Beefaman, You boat based or land based when you are fishing there? I would assume boat....