Thread: Wello Report 30-1-05

aquarius

Wello Report 30-1-05

Hi there folks, Just could not resist going for another plastics bash at Wello today.
    4.30am Jim and i head off again to the shallow reefs around Wello in search of more small snapper.
    What a difference a day makes, heaps of boat traffic and water on the bay as calm as a lake.
    Not the best conditions for sneaking up on a snapper..lol
    Tide was on the make but fishing the plastics was slow with the odd fish comming on board every hour or so.
    Lost some big sweetlip to snags with one even heading back past our boat and into his home...lol
    No matter how hard we tried we just could not get the grassies off the reef.
    They were biting very softly then all of a sudden wamo the fights on and then its snag you up time.
    Noticed several boats catching legal size grassies on bait but the plastics don't seem to fool them like the snapper.
    Most of the fish hit in the 3.5 to 4 metre mark.
    Top plastic today by far was the old faithful 4" zoom baby bass.
    Assassin 3" baby bass worked well to.
    Best small snapper went 37cm way down on yesterdays size but hey we aren't complaining with a total catch of 20 fish over 2 days fishing all on soft plastics.
    Scored 3 nice sand flathead and 5 small snapper.
    Also got grinners ,cod and moses perch all returned to fight another day.
    Hope you all caught a feed this weekend and who could ask for a better forecast.......Thanks BOM
    Cheers Brent

Re: Wello Report 30-1-05

hey brent.

we were using the plastics around the eastern side of mud along with all the other boats. we only got one legal squire and a heap of undersized ones. also a few sweetlip and plenty of grinners.

aquarius

Re: Wello Report 30-1-05

Hi Scott......Mate its not easy fishing with all the boats around.
    I'm convinced the noise scares the better quality fish.
    Most of the boats around Wello disapeared by 10am and we found the fish biting while there was less traffic.
    A slight chop on the water seems to help, maybe they feel more secure under these conditions.
    Cheers Brent.
    Hey 1 squire is better than none.
    Cheers Brent