nice fish man , great effort
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: BIG MACS FOR BREKKY !!!
somebody get me a spoon !!!
-
Nice one Scott!
thats a good haul mate, practising for the M&G?
Regards, Tony
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Addict
Scott,
You're just gunna upset the spottie mac chasers with pics like that.
You won't need to go to 1770 with a couple more weeks of fishing practise up your sleeve
-
Yeeha! About time the mojo returned. It's a good omen for holidays.
-
Top stuff scott, what a start to your holidays mate, pauls going to be spewing when he see's those fish. catch ya at 1770...foxy
-
Ausfish Gold Member
thanx guys
yea tony im hopeing there is a monster up there with my name on it ,
dazza and timmy i knew it was the cruise craft that had the bad mojo ,we will be sacrificeing the chicken in it next weekend.
foxy ill send paul a pm,id hate for him to miss my report .
im gonna have another go tommorow,just hope the northerly stays away early,im gonna try out some new rigs.
cheers scott
-
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
hey mark
i run em back anywhere from approx 20-50 meters.if its a glassy day and there is not many other boats ill drop em right back.but if its ruff or crowded ill keep them in close,this makes the boat more manouvreable and minimises the chance of a fish running under any nearby boats.you'll find if you troll to far behind with mono the stretch in the line will give you a bad hook up rate and if you use braid you''ll pull to many hooks during the fight.
cheers scott
-
i've never seen much less caught one of yalls mackrel. i live in the usa . but they look identical to our king mackrel on the s.e. coast . i live in south carolina. when we troll live bait i always try to put out 6 baits. first bait is right in the prop wash. no more than 6 feet behind the motor. next 2 down riggers . 1 dropped back about 30 feet behind the downrigger ball and 20 feet below the boat. the other about 20 feet behind the ball and 10 feet off the bottom. next line is about 30 feet behind the boat on a flat line. t-top about 100 feet behind the boat then one about 200 feet behind the boat off the t-top. try it . that short line usually gets the most attention i promise.
it is amazeing how much the fish look alike i just assume they have the same feeding patterns. hit fast, cut a lot of baits in 2 pieces (thats why we use a stinger hook) , good eyesight and when they hit............................... we call big ones smokers cause they will smoke a reel down on that first run!
-
G'day Scott
Thats one awesome catch of Spaniards...a few tasty mac fillets on the BBQ in that lot.!!
Are you using a stinger type rig (wired) as suggested above.??
Phil
-
Top effort scott, nice fish in a short session.