The spotties,
Well the weather last week was too good to be true, and was praying that it would hold out till the weekend. Thank goodness it did and the weekend was a ripper,
Headed south to Palm Beach trolling all the way down, caught a few mac tuna, and finally arrived at Palmy. First run we hooked into a nice spotty around 12lb. Second run we hooked up again in exactly the same spot. But this time the ratched was screaming and under much more pressure. 5 minutes later we had a nice 25lb spanish onboard. Next run we hooked up again to a nice spotty that just didn't want to be gaffed. Finally landed the slimy f#*k and put him in the esky. Headed back up the coast and landed another spotty near the seaway on the lures.
Went out again Sunday, with similar intentions, Headed south to palmy, first run had a nice fish on but he busted us up, with probably a little to much tension put on the 10kg line. LURE LOST. About an hour later we hooked up again, and this time he was flying. after a little show we had him gaffed and in the esky.
Great weekend and nice weather, with lots of fresh fish..
All the best
Dominic
"Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda
The spotties,
Spanish from Sunday...
Nice Fishs
May I know what size boat and motor are you using?
Also the LB for the mainline?
Good on ya dominic, some good fish there. They were really on at palmy over the weekend. We will have to catch up again for a fish soon.
jason
Well done ....a good feed of macs there.
Sounds like all the pelagics went to the "Goldie" for the weekend. . Pretty quite up North Straddie way
Were you having success on lures (any prefences??) or livies.
Phil
Nice fish,
What lures were ya snaggin em on?
Hi Boys,
Deepsea, I have a 4.75m Bluefin Centre Console, with a 60 Hp Mariner Bigfoot. Has a extra large stainless prop and will plain at 9 knots, which is great for towing skirts for spanish mackeral. Most of the outfits have 10 or 15 kg mainline. The reason we got busted off was because drag wasn't checked and too tight.
The lures boys were skirts, one of the lures caught all but one of the fish. The best colours were pink/silver/blue.
Hope this helps
Dominic
Good to see your getting amoung the macks dominic, have to get down there and have a run in that blue fin mate! Nice size fish, you boys are having a ripper season...foxy
nice fish dom... geez those goldy reefs cop a hiding on a good day!!
Good stuff, I'll be out there again soon.
They do get a hidding, but you can't stop people fishing.
See you when your on the G.C (Gods Country) Foxy...
Nice spaniards how far of shore do you troll and what lures do you use
regards michael
Hi Dominic,
Nice fish there looks like top conditions for the trips too. Hope it's the same this weekend.
Matty
Top work Dominic. [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Spotties and spanish, want more do you need.