Wello Report 19/2/05

Thread: Wello Report 19/2/05

aquarius

Wello Report 19/2/05

Howdy Folks, Jim and I hit Wello at first light this morning for another attack on the squire and sweetlip population.
    Tide was 1.5 hours away from being full so light jigheads were the go.
    Got onto the grassies the moment the plastics hit the water and boated 4 within the hour.
    Nothing big just legal up to 33cms.
    Plastics used were zoom 4"white ice, assassin 3" baby shad and crystal shad along with the old favourite zoom 4" baby bass.
    When the tide started to fall the fishing slowed down so we motored off up towards Ormiston for a few drifts in the 5 metre zone.
    Only managed one squire to 36cm but had quite a few throw backs including small moses perch.
    Our bonus for the day was two nice flathead around the 50cm mark.
    Just love flathead fillets...MMMMMM.
    The afternoon session was almost dead with only a couple of throw back pike and squire.
    Was another top day out on the bay with a few fish for the table...what more could you ask for.
    Ok maybe bigger fish next trip..lol
    Cheers Brent

aquarius

Re: Wello Report 19/2/05

Fish pic

nice fish brent. you sure have wello under your belt

aquarius

Thanks Scott, We should know the area well by now..lol
    We have spent many fishing hours checking it out.
    We used bait until going over to plastics for the first time this year.
    Cheers Brent

mate your on fire.......
    well i've at least go the boat bit figured out now but the fishings got me stuffed.....can't catch cold.....

all tips and advice greatfully accepted

aquarius

Mate its good to know you have got that signature up and running now lets try and get you a feed of fresh fish.
    Fishing with the soft plastics takes a bit of practice so i will give you some info on baits for Wello.
    If you are going to target grassies i would say get some whole small fresh or fresh frozen squid.
    Hook size go for a small no;2 mustad penetrator hook.
    smallest size pea sinker or up the size to suit tidal run.
    1 metre of 12lb vanish or nitlon flourocarbon leader attached to small swivel onto 12lb main line.
    Sweetlip will often mouth the bait before the final gulp so let out the line until you feel enough pressure to set the hook.......hit too early and you will not hook up.
    SQUIRE USUALLY SMASH THE BAITS!!! and they are clean fighters but grassies will try anything to avoid capture so once you have contact don't give them any line or they will snag for sure.
    You could also try fresh mullet strips or WA Pilchard on a 2 gang rig.
    Be prepared to lose gear because if your not in a snaggy area you won't find the fish.
    Wello fishes best on an incomming tide.
    Just a few tips that worked for me but i'm sure others will have some different ideas.
    Hope you have some luck mate.
    Cheers Brent

thx brent i appreciate you passing on the tips for rig/bait etc.....
    now what about location? i dont expect you to expose your secrets to much....but some general hints will help

aquarius

Mate sound around to find where the drop offs are......usually find the squire are on the outer edge of the 4 to 5 metre mark and the grassies will be in closer.......probably 3 to 4 metres.
    Start at the leeds and work your way up to Ormiston.
    Tip;Less boat traffic helps the catch rate and burley certainly brings in the fish to your area.
    We always kept our old bait to use for burley on the next trip.
    Find a good spot and STAY THERE!!! moving around in the shallow water scatters the fish.
    When we are using the soft plastics we never go back over our drift we do a BIG ARK.
    Cheers Brent

thanks heaps mate thats a great start......

can't wait to put into practice..........

bloody working weeks interfering with my learning >

roll on next weekend......

thx again....

shane
    PS. i've been sending you some funnies but i forgot to ask if anyone else accesses that email address...hope they are ok?

aquarius

No problem Shane......might see you out there next weekend weather permitting.
    Cheers Brent

If you're going to throw back Pike ( I assume you mean Yellow Tail Pike the fish and not the dreaded Pike Eel ), throw 'em this way. They're the best Squire and Snapper bait for winter, bar none.

NICK.

G'Day Brent,

Nice haul well done, went past Wello this morning (wide) out to Harrys. Started out ok (crowd wise) but got like Queen st after 6.00 ish. Bloke and his missus ended up right beside us, no more than 20ft away > Should of dropped a couple of snap leads into their boat to give them the hint.

Ended up down the rainbow after we got to the Bar and realised the EPIRB was on the kitchen bench at home AAAHH..

Picked a few Tuskies along with the usual catch of undersize Squire, Cod etc nothing to get excited over but feed non the less.

Still turned out a good day on the water.... better than being at work

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

aquarius

Yes Nick they were yellow tailed pike......we had a double hookup on the plastics in 2.5 metres of water.
    Must have been a school in that area going through.
    Sorry but we don't use bait anymore so have no need to keep them.

Tony mate at least you got a feed but its no fun having to fight for a parking spot over at Harry's.
    Been there many times but only scored small fish so i will concentrate on the Wello and Peel area,s to avoid the crowds...lol
    I would have been out there again today but work committments put a stop to that.
    Cheers Brent

Pike Eel make great shark bait
    heh