Thread: GNEERING SPANIARD - MY FIRST EVER !!

GNEERING SPANIARD - MY FIRST EVER !!

Well, what words can I use to describe the exhilaration of landing my first Spanish Mackerel.... AAARRGGGHHH, GO YOU GOOD THING !!!!!

I got the opportunity this morning to Deckie for a friend of a friend nicknamed "Barrel", who is a mad keen fisho like the rest of us (he is also a regular visitor to the site).

The plan was to head out from Moolooaba prior to daybreak to first chase Bottom fish then later in the day have a troll for a Mack.

Apart from a tropical downpour while launching the boat, things went according to plan. We bagged half a dozen reasonable Sweetlip and a parrot by 7.00am before breaking out the oversize "Slimies" for a spot of trolling. The next couple of hours were quite uneventful apart from the plethora of Tuna schools that kept popping up in our trolling path. I'm sure they were all Yellowfin and quality ones at that, but we were after a Spanish and determind to stick with the program.
    A check of our baits revealed that they were gone , we were both enjoying the day on the water and missed seeing the rods get struck.
    Anyhow, I'll stop waffling, cause it's time for the climax. SLAM, off goes the rod and I'm ON !! A big strong fish stays connected and sluggs it out down deep with short powerfull runs. I'm thinking Tuna ??? 15 min later (maybe less) I get the animal to the surface, "SPANISH" is the cry as the gaff finds the mark. My first ever and a cracka to open my account 8) 8)
    It later pulls the scales down to 17kg and my cheshire cat grin, will not go away .

Within 10 min of landing the first fish, the same rod goes off again. Barrel calls it for another Spanish, but a lot smaller, WRONG, again a quality fish of around 14kg's.
    The decision is made to head for home and get these "Ball Tearer" Mackerel iced down.

Thanks again Greg (Barrel) for an awesome day out. It's one I'll never forget. That Spaniard is by far the biggest "quality" fish I've caught. Now that I've broken my duck, let me back at them, may there be many more in the future.

Craig.

Re: GNEERING SPANIARD - MY FIRST EVER !!

different pose

two of them are heavier than Bugman's anchor

well done craig thats an awesome debut spaniard. sounds like u had a great day out fishing while most of us were at work.

cheers phil
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

DaneCross

Top stuff Craig! Gotta be happy with that

ahh ya bastard Craigie... i took my old man for a trip out there this morning, got to the ramp before light and got out early.. just got out to the blinker and he started feeling crook, so we slowly made our way back in.. damn.. bloody nice fish there mate!!

Good on ya craigy, nice fish to open your account mate!!!
    Looks like you were that excited ya didnt bleed the second fish! lol.
    Remember the pectrol fins as well,
    Catch ya...foxy

Well done bud! Dont they get the old blood pumping, especially when right beside the boat just before the gaff goes in!! Well done.
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Onya craigie, dont know who enjoyed that tassle most..Enjoyed reading your post..

Sportfish_5

Yee Haah !!!!

Well done Craig. They are right up there as a table fish too.

Phillip,

Thanks mate, I'm at work now catching up, but it was worth it

DC,

Verry happy, now I have one spottie and one spanish for the season, the sky is the limit from here, umm well..... maybe it's only 5 and 3 respectively

Zeeke,

Thanks mate.
    Don't need to go as far as the Blinker, you should have trolled back.
    Saw heaps of surface activity. Mainly Yellowfin, some Mack Tuna and bonito.

Foxy,

Thank you, yep very excited and only an after-thought to bleed the second mack, but he has been bled, It's just that I've got "Hands of a surgeon" .
    I'm glad someone mentioned the Pec Fins, it was a set-up
    We only showed the side of the fish with the fin on (same side in all three pics) Right hand side has been cut off Good to see your on the ball

Mono,

Thanks mate, I'm still shaking, need a few beers to settle me down . I didn't see the fish until almost Gaff Time as I was sitting down hanging on. My eyes fell out of my head when it came sprawling over the gunnel, no room left on the floor to put my feet and toes.

Volvo,

Glad you enjoyed the read, I enjoyed writing it
    Hope Brett and I can find a few more of these Spaniards at North West 8)

Cheers Guys

Craig.

Craigie, yeh, we saw heaps of surface action too.. mack tuna mostly, running a few lures out the back on the way in.. but my old man was just feelin too crook to stay out any longer..shame.. but still, nice work mate..

aquarius

Top effort there Craig.....Always great to get your first ever spanish and a ripper at that.......must have been an adrenaline rush ay.
    Guess its mackerel steaks on the bbq tonight and for the next week.
    Cheers Brent

Well Done Craigie,
    There is only one big problem now, coping with the addiction to catching blues, not many people get a nice sized fish like yours as their first one. Twice as good!!!!
    Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Pat on the back Craigie.
    You did well
    Cheers Sandi