Thread: Bay Thursday Franger Session

Bay Thursday Franger Session

What a hoot those bay squire/grassies are on 4kilo string & light jig heads,weather was(first time I can ever remember saying this) was Too good,not even a breeze,water was glassed out & no run,you could say we were actually becalmed plus the fact that the bite percentage was only 30%,Beefaman (Darryl)was on fire boating at lest 20 fish, both squire & sweeties with half them a centimere undersize , by stumps we had a nice feed with 3 squire to 40cm, 1 cod, 1 39cm bream & a nice big sole.Brent YOU ARE DA MAN,your info was spot on & I'm keenly looking forward to another flick when the conditions/tides ect are more favourable. Cheers Touchy.><> ><> ><>.

Re: Bay Thursday Franger Session

It was a great day!! Thanks for the tips Brent, much appreciated!! Caught a heap of fish, saw dolphins, turtles and plenty of surface action to boot, although they didnt want to play the game!!
    We got blown away a few times using light string, but it was great fun none the less!
    The weather gods smiled too much, glassed out with no breeze, amazing really!!

Good work Touchy
    How's the toe going?

aquarius

Fella,s Great to hear you had some success with the plastics around my favourite haunt Wello.
    Try again over Easter weekend when the tide is on the make and you should score some better quality fish.
    The only problem could be too much boat traffic but if you persist they should come on the chew around the top of the tide.
    Fred make sure that new 6kilo line is ultra thin...lol
    Cheers Brent

Sounds like a perfect days Fishing on the bay what more could you ask for. It's Great to hear that the plastics were doing the trick. I'm very keen to give it a go myself as soon as I get my new boat. What type of SP's were you using.

aquarius

Gday Jibby, Not sure what the other guys are using but for myself ive been using 4"zooms and 3"assassins and the odd 4" terminator snapbacks.
    1/8 TT jigheads for shallow water up to 5 metres depth.
    Cheers Brent

We used 3" Bass Minnows, 3" Gulps and Larger tyoe squidgie shads on 1/12th oz jigheads mainly, but there wasnt much water movement as the tides were close together in height.

Crikey Darryl, That sounds like you knew what you were doing ,Have you seen the easter tides yet yahoooo!!, you better stock up on them orange wormy things .Touchy.><>..

Already restocked some of my gear, but can always fit more in the SP bag
    I dont know what I am doing mate, they just jump on the SP's at Wello [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

aquarius

Hey guys ,I was told by my fishing buddy that some friends of his fished Wello on Sunday for 2 squire around 40cm mark and 3 spotted mackerel at 80cms all on plastics.
    They lost quite a few fish due to bust offs, probably macks.
    Bring on the Easter weekend calm weather because i can't wait to get out there again to try out my new 7' strudwick sic stick on those squire etc.
    Cheers Brent

G'Day Brent,New Struddie heh,You must be getting farrrr to much money in your line of work(any vacancies , I'm looking at Sat or Sun at this stage,will check the weather & see which day has the best plus which one has the highest bite time percentages.Cheers Touchy.><> ><> ><>.

aquarius

Hi Fred, wish i was earning too much money..lol
    Sorry mate no vacancies.
    Was a deal too good to miss out on 30% off the normal price.
    Looks like Friday and Monday are the pics over Easter at the present time but i'm sure things will change..lol
    I may get out there on Friday arvo/night under that full moon to see whats lurking around Wello shallows.
    Cheers Brent.

We are looking at heading out Saturday morning, have family things on Friday

Good stuff Touchy,
    Nice to see, I am a big fan of light gear from time to time, particularly when it comes to flathead and bass. Also lovely to meet you back in Feb.
    Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Gee, the weatherreport isnt much good for tomorrow Looking like Monday will be the best for the long weekend now