Basser's Big Adventure with Mono

Thread: Basser's Big Adventure with Mono

Basser's Big Adventure with Mono

What a great day. I was fortunate enough to have Mark (Mono) Stewart invite me down to fish his local dam. It’s a big dam he has down there, bigger than Somerset I reckon. The water was clearer than anything I’d seen up here, but it didn’t taste real good. I couldn’t even see the other side. I dunno how Mono finds his way around down there, ‘cause there aren’t even any trees to use as land marks. I thought we may have been able to tie up to a tree to have some lunch, but they did a hell of a clearing job before the dam filled. Mono’s pretty tricky too, he doesn’t have to launch his punt, ‘cause he keeps it tied up to a jetty which is fortunate ‘cause I reckon his car would have troubling towing it, it’s the biggest Bass Punt I’ve seen.
    First stop was the bait grounds, which Mono found using a TV Set size thingy on the dash. This was the only time I was permitted to use my Baitcaster after specially respooling with new 14lb Fireline. Once the bait tank was full, it was off to find the Bass. My first hookup didn’t last very long. It was sorta like trolling at Somerset and getting the line caught in the prop of a passing Ski Boat. I couldn’t see another boat, so I guess it must have been a fish. I lost three or four of these Racing Bass before Webby finally landed one. Bloody weirdest looking Bass I’ve seen, but the other guys seemed happy, ‘cause they were all yelling out “Wahoo, wahoo!” (Must be a NSW sort of thing!)
    We then went looking for a deep hole that Mono knew about, the sounder was showing almost 300 feet deep, and because my baitcaster only had 125 yards of Fireling, I left it in the holder again. I used one of Mono’s monster baitcasters. I didn’t want to say anything to him, but I reckon you’d struggle to cast a spinner bait on one. First drop something ate my bait, This one pulled harder than a Wivenhoe bass, and I struggled to get it off the bottom. This fight didn’t last long, ‘cause the harder I pulled him away from his home, the more he wanted to get back there. He won. Then I finally caught something that looked like a bass. Mono said it was a Pearler, but it didn’t look all that big to me. Then I got a couple of some sort of mutant Yellowbelly. These are tough buggers, and pull much harder than the Queensland Yella’s. Mono said something about me being the King Fisherman, there is no royalty in my family, although I do have an Uncle who’s a Queen.
    We did some more lure tolling, although I reckon we missed out on the normal bass, ‘cause Mono was trolling a bit faster than I normally do. They wouldn’t let me put out a Blitzie on my baitcaster. We finished off the day landing a few Yellow Finned Racing Bass, and some other sort of racing Bass called Mac. Looked similar to the Yellow finned jobbies but a bit duller colour.
    It was a great day with great company. Thanks Steve, Mono, Nugget and Webby.
    If you want to fish Mono’s dam, look up his details in the Charters Section.
    Here's Mono's big Punt.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Re: Basser's Big Adventure with Mono

Steve Ausfish with a Yellow Finned Racing Bass
    Dale

My Mutant Yellow Belly
    Dale

The day's catch. Pity that Paris was in the galley with Mono when this shot was taken.
    Dale

Classic, great report for a freshy

LMAO Top report Aussiebasser

Now i know why I never go freshwater fishing...using trees as guides is a bit suss for me.

AND...has Webby got a new cap? Or was this just a special event that justified wearing a new one?

Webby's hat did look fairly new. Maybe it's his Sunday best, the one he wears to Church. I could also mention that Webby could sleep anywhere, but I won't.
    Dale

Trees ?? What Trees ???, The only trees mate are the ones we saw you standing behind before you ventured onboard.
    The hat was to look the part for you well dressed freshies
    Great day though, even though the Barries (nsw slang) didnt stretch your arms for you. But those kingies sure had the sweat running off your brow and the arms starting to look like soft plastics.
    The day started off really bad, although im not superstitious, that So called channel 10 expert, pulled out a bloody banana, and plightly hoed into it, which made the skipper bring out the big gaff and pointing to the sign above his head which read NO Bananas on Board and politely told him to hang his rear end over board and get rid of it all together..
    Slimies were pretty hard to find even though the bait was there.
    Ran into a good school of Hoo's, which soon made short work to some of our lures and live rigs.
    With only one making the deck. The live yakkas down deep, soon had Dale and Brownie loosing a few more rigs, but they did manage two reasonable Kingies, while the rest of us pulled up a feed of Pearlies.
    It was then back to trolling live baits and lures, and we ran into a school of yellows and big boofheads, but the hoo had disappeared from our earlier session.
    After a long day out wide we headed back to the inshore shallows to see if the Barries had decided to bit, but no luck, so called it a day after nearly 10 hrs on the water.
    Great bunch of blokes to fish with, and Thanks to Mark for the boys day out.
    Some of the day events
    A bloke couldnt even have 40 winks, as some smart arse started letting off firecrackers
    Brownie got his new Ausfish shrirt splattered in blood, which will empress the better half.
    The 4bc ident was on his back most of the day.
    Someone wanted to anchor for his lunch break.
    The skipper can now be called TWO MONO"s after his little slip, which brough tears to his eyes as he called for a piece of dowel to put them back in place
    But a great day again Thanks Fellas

Benny

[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]Good read

Sounds like fun Sure provides a welcome change from fw fishing ;

Benny

well done dale looks like you had a top day.
    better day than mondran anyway.

Very entertaining read fellas !!
    Sounds like you all had a good time, I'm sure the jokes would have been flying left right and centre on board all day.
    And all the old buggas actually caught fish......
    regards darren

Quote Originally Posted by bigdan123
    well done dale looks like you had a top day.
    better day than mondran anyway.
    G'day Dan, was nice to meet you up at Monduran on Wednesday. I here you broke your Barra virginity after I left, congratulations. I sure was a hectic three days for me, with an 800k round trip to Monduran for a day's fishin', then the 300k round trip to Brunswick for the day with the boys from here. It never ceases to amaze me how many really nice people you meet fishin'. Well, apart from that cranky bugger you were fishing with at Monduran.
    For those who don't know him, that's Big Dan at the back of Paul Dolan's boat at Monduran
    Dale

Webby,
    In the fresh water, we normally call a lunch break and pull up on shore so a bloke can spend some private time behind a tree. When you think about this, remember that I fish the dams that supply your drinking water, if I don't go up the bank you face the consequences. Think of me next time you have a glass of water mate.
    When Mono went over and squished his Jatz Crackers, I thought Steve might have jumped in with a therapeutic massage for him, but that wasn't the case. I did think it was very inconsiderate of Mono to do that while I was fishting a fish. I couldn't sit down and cack myself laughing like the rest of you.
    The superstitions really came out on the day didn't they. Nugget, with a great head for radio, nonchalantly gets a banana out of his lunch box and starts eating it, Mono's missus washing his bandana. At least I had my lucky undies on, they worked for me at Wivehoe last week, so I kept them on waiting for the day off shore. Thanks for letting me have that back corner to myself all day too.
    I hope Steve gets his shirt clean.
    Dale

heres one back at ya
    suppose you drank all those crownies