I have recently purchused a 4.55 Stacer NOMAD and have a 2 trips out to Rattlesnake Island out off Townsville. Have caught a few small trout and a few small reds but nothing special. Has anyone caught anything decent around rattlesnake??
Are the RAAF still bombing the crap out of it?
Yes they are. You should be able to troll up a few nice spaniards around there this time of the year.
I snorkled some of the close reefs and we came across hundreds of old bomb shells which had heaps of tiny fish living inside. Well worth having a look at!
Mate, i`ve been over there afew times and done pretty well with trout and tuskies.
As you come around the north west of the island there is a rocky point (black bit on map). If you can get small rock crabs its worth a look for parrot and tuskies. When you head east from this the first bay you come to (in red and only about 50m from the point) is where i`ve done pretty well with trout. Try pillies or big strip baits. Strippies work best if you ask me. Fillet them and take a slice of their yellow tail with the fillet. when you rig it up leave the yellow hanging off the hook. There should also be alot of tuna off the east side of Herald Island at the time of the year.
Good luck.
Nathan
It does get hit pretty hard for a small reef system, so lots of just undersized trout. Lorne reef is probably the best reef around there. Here is a mark around the middle of it - it is about 1/4 the size of Rattlesnake Island
19 02 340S
146 35 250E
are tuskies any good to eat. you might think thats a stupid question but i'm just starting out fishing and don't know too much so its easier for me to ask stupid questions
Not a stupid question at all. Most people I fish with throw them back usually because they're targetting reds and the disapointment of catching something different is too much for them. I however have tasted them and they are a very nice fish to eat indead. But like all fish, if it only goes from esky to table (i.e. not sitting in freezer for weeks), they always taste better from the sea.Originally Posted by sboyes
Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)
Yup tuskies are great freash!