Thread: LAKE SAMSONVALE REPORTS?

LAKE SAMSONVALE REPORTS?

Rarely see any reports for Lake Samsonvale.

Anyone fished there in the past month that can let us know wants been getting caught lately?

Gigantor
    ====================
    Hobie Outback 2012 &
    Hobie Oasis 2012
    ====================

Re: LAKE SAMSONVALE REPORTS?

no fishing in the lake is permitted as far as i know

heeps of gar biguns to

hey Mal,
    yeah mate your allowed. But different sections arent allowed boats.

WHITTO

G'Day Gigantor, I believe at the present time the temparary boat ramp requires a 4x4 to launch,if you have a canoe or a small enough boat you can manhandle you will be OK,for this reason I have not renewed my permit until we get big heaps of rain,all I can tell you from experience is that there is nothing ordinary about the size of the Bass in the Dam, here's to plenty of rain, Cheers Whitto

gday guys i am in the pine rivers fish management and they have repaired the ramp this week and it is now more accessible for normal cars and the fishing is pretty hot out there at the moment we went out last weekend and caught 4 bass all ranging from 50cm to 54cm and we also got 2 yellowbelly ranging from 50cm to 54cm and we thought we would put the pots in the night before and scored 60 good sized redclaw any way if you want to get a permit for the dam give this number a ring 0417 742 023 and they should be able to organize a permit for you reguards matt woods

Ausfish New Member

I have a small aluminium boat on a trailer which I tow with a family sedan.

I purchased a boat access permit for the lake for 05-06 and on my first and only trip to the lake a few weeks ago I found the temporary boat launching ramp unsuitable for my 2WD sedan and extremely dangerous for launch and retrieval from my trailer.

I cannot understand how the fish stocking association could issue boat access permits when holders could not safely use the ramp even with a small boat off a trailer. For this reason I was going to return my permit and request a refund of my fee.

Before I waste my time in driving to the lake again can you tell me if if the ramp is now suitable for launching a boat off a trailer with a 2wd sedan

Also is there still a big gap between the bottom of the ramp and the waters surface?

Mal, The north-west section of the Lake is designated for fishing from boats and is managed by the Pine Rivers Fish Management Association. You can fish from the bank from virtually anywhere else.

Whitto, I fish from canoe/kayak anyway. So not affected.

Fang1, I understand your concern, which has now been remedied (as advised by Matt). But in all fairness, it's difficult to keep up with the dropping water levels of the dam. You'd need to be out there nearly every 2nd day creating another ramp base. I think the PRFMA team do a great job with the resources they have.

Matt, Now do ya wanna give me an idea where you were catching the bass & yellas? And what technique you were using? That would be mucho appreciated indeed thanks?

Gigantor
    ====================
    Hobie Outback 2012 &
    Hobie Oasis 2012
    ====================

gday guys well my dad went up there today and he said that the ramp has improved immensly but the only thing is that the road base is a little bit loose and it is hard to keep grip on the ramp but it is much better for launching he also caught 4 bass all around the 53cm mark today the best place is the top bay just trolling up and back this has been pretty productive the last couple of times that we have been up there anyway hope this helps you guys a little bit reguards matt woods

Ausfish New Member

Thanks Matt

Now the ramp has been improved I hope to get out their tomorrow.