Late Straddie beach wrap-up

Thread: Late Straddie beach wrap-up

Late Straddie beach wrap-up

Hello all.

I've been waiting for some photos - took the SLR instead of the digi - so I apologise for the late report.

I spent 6 days (Sat May 28 to Thurs June 2) on Straddie with the ABC ex-Hacks and Has-Beens Tailor Preservation Society.

We once again lived up to our name of preserving tailor stocks for future generations. 8kgs of IQF pillies went to the island and 7.7 kg came back. The just weren't there day or night on main beach or at the pin. Whole gar couldn't even turn things in my favour. All the live reports from the beach suggested the same thing - even from the pros who hadn't netted a school of tailor in weeks.

Armed with this information we targeted bream in a very leisurely fashion. Our plan was find a nice hole on main beach and set up a temporary camp for the day. It included full cooking equipment (we even cooked a whole corned beef with roast vegies and white sauce for lunch one day) - food is important after all.

Fishing would take the form of 15 mins with rod in hand and an hour or so of sitting in a chair with beer in hand watching the rod holder on the beach. Had a ball and caught some bloody great fish. Every session brought between 10 and 20 bream in the esky. During the early days we couldn't catch a bream under 30cms with the biggest going about 38. All were very solid sea bream. The size gradually decreased as the week progressed but good number of keepers kept coming.

The odd flathead, tarwine and whiting helped round out the daily catch.

Did try to chase the jew at the Pin on a couple of early morning occasions but the bream pickers cleaned out my worm ball and made a mess of my mullet slabs.

Overall a fantastic trip with Straddie proving once again its fishing potential even when you're not trying.

To give you a tip about the expertise level of the fellas I travel with - one afternoon session when the bream came on we put 16 all over 30 in the esky in an hour. I landed 15 with the other 7 blokes getting 1 between them - go figure.

Bugman

A typical brace

Re: Late Straddie beach wrap-up

One of the fellas brought his son who was testing out his new SLR digi camera.

These are all his photos.

nice

more roos

ah what a place

the rising sun just stole my girl away

It's right at our doorstep

This is what accounted for almost all the bream. These and mullet strips.

looks like a nice relaxing trip topped of witn some beers & even some fish.

Kleiny

any tailor ???
    nice catch there

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Brett,

The quality Bream more than made up for the lack of Tailor.
    As you were the main provider out on the beach, I hope the rest of the crew were good deck-hands and kept the beers flowing for you
    Mate, life is tough, it's just one fishing trip after another

Sounds like the beach fished the total opposite to inside the pin.
    Our annual Houseboat trip was plagued by a lack of bream of any size, our poorest result ever. 30 odd keepers and only 2 fish over 30cm .
    Heaps of tailor being caught 100m out from the Northern tip of Crusoe Is. Saw 3 boats "Polling" them Saturday Morning, but without pillies you were no chance

"Bring back the Bogey" !!! The snapper and perlies are calling

Craig.

Into the silver snapper huh

I think there are more tailor in the bay than on the beach at the moment. Did you flick any baits out wider for dart or did you have your hands too full reeling in bream to feed the motley crew?

Straddie.

Tried a few times but there was a strong sweep most of the time which ended up with us catching bream as the bait swung around. Bream are a better fighter with a small sinker so we didn't try all that hard.

Craigie,

Got the good news yesterday Insurance said yes to everything - I'm getting a cheque and a new gearbox . It will be fitted and available for testing mid next week.

I'm thinking Hutchies at night - we might ask that other fella if he wants to come Then again he's probably too busy planning his NW Island trip

Chemmy - no tailor

The other fella can soon sabotage the trip I know the secret location of Bogey and parts

Brett,

Some nice fish there mate...like the Cold Chisel lyric in there too lol .

Mates of mine and I are heading over for the long weekend, but will be at Blakesley's on the western side. Been some good whiting catches around some parts, so we'll be hoping to tap into them.