Thread: Mud-Bait-Bagout

Mud-Bait-Bagout

Well Almost
    Headed out at 3pm Sat with Colin and Darren and his mate in his rig for a nite bash, wx was perfect flat to icerink conditions.
    Darren headed off to do his thing testing a few areas, while we headed south to work the pinnacles and let loose a few livies. Susprise catch was (not a squire) but a Big Jack in his winter colours, my best to date.
    Then moved to the eastern side to be met by a flotilla of boats, so moved to spot x and scored a few. as the sun dipped the phospherous got bad, so back to the s/west where it wasnt as bad.
    Then to the North and met up with Darren in the shallows, where big pike were the order (will let Darren tell you what landed in his esky ), got sick of the pike so to the n/west.
    By morning we had nearly made it, but couldnt score the last to finish the fill, but a decent lizard from the creek mouth helped.
    Headed home as the crowd started to arrive, and also bumped into a few other desperatoes like Cheech and MichaelG.
    Bait was the killer, divers, squid, gar and grinners.
    Colin withsome of the early catch.

Re: Mud-Bait-Bagout

Jack time

the nights work

G/ day Brian top stuff mate a nice haul of mud squire and a JACK ! to boot, you are the king !

CHEERS RAY

ello Brian

geez you did alright. surly and myself, ended up with 3 squire, 2 squid, 4 cuttlefiish(all on 3' or 4" berkely minnows -p'seed). had a couple of great runs but hooks pulled gave up counting the fish we caught.
    Gave that spot you mentioned a go but only got pike or grinners. Did a complete trip around Mud and ended back were we started.
    what a great day

Michael

Webbie - can you please explain to me what "the phospherous got bad" means?

There is no such thing as a stupid questions - only stupid people...

good catch too!

nice feed webby .....was a great night out there hey ....lot of boats though. The phosphorous was as thick as i've seen it for a while ....couldn't believe the glow coming off the back of the prop as we heading back around the north side around 6 30. Geez looks liek you did the laps ...
    we picked up a feed on the eastern side ...9 fish in 25 minutes ...then gone . Best went 47 cm

RobSee , phosphorous is a mineral that is in the water ...when it is disturbed , it glows . sometimes depending on the current / rain / run off etc etc there can be higher levels then other times...making a stronger glow

searaider

Onya Webby ,
    Another good catch of squire or should that be Snapper Top Jack

Searaider 2

Good on ya brian,one of the great things about fishing is that unexpected catch! nice jack ...foxy

Had a very different fishing session this time. Was out there with my 8 year old for an overnighter. Had a couple of hours around and after dark in the south east carpark, then an hour or so north east, before heading in close south west to anchour for the night.

Bought one of those $20.00 gas cookers, cooked up a hot dinner and then eggs for breakfast. Was really novel boiling up water and having a coffee out there.

As for the fishing,,,,, I had a lot of trouble even finding anything on the sounder. Heaps of jellyfish though. I must have been in the wrong spots this trip. But Jake caught the first 5 fish and had a really good time, so that was great. He had lost a bit of interest, but looks like he is ready to get back into it again.

My tally for the night was just 1 legal Bream (which we also cooked up for breakfast). And I gave them a fair go considering I was anchoured in the shallows all night and Jake was in bed at about 9.00pm. Secret spot and secret bait, and all that wanted to take it was little squire. They just do not seem to be in yet. Should be good timing for the river to mud challenge as they do appear to be in late this year.

Then a glassed out run home.

So for me it was very quiet on the fishing front, but a really good night to be out there. Was not cold either.

Webby, should have thrown you one of our just legal squire.....
    just so technically you could have bagged out mate.
    Nice catch once again.
    Spot X didn't fire for us last night, so we scouted a few different spots while you zipped around the east.
    Didn't do much good after trying a couple of more spots....
    so into the trusty shallows we went on a dark night.
    Produced a few bream , best to 35cm but no monsters.
    Caught a nice surprise in less than 2 metres of water -
    a 10 kg { 80cm} gold spot cod.
    Cheech , didn;t know you were out there, otherwise would have come over and said gidday.
    Regards Darren.

no snapper this trip, but a feed anyway

Sounds like a great night Brian. Some nice quality snapper there. You'll have to come down soon for a bash out wide, its been pretty good.
    Allnighter, have you got two left feet or is the phot taken with mirrors??
    Go the Rabbits
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

L.O.L.
    Geez Mark, you have an eye for detail ! ...
    I had to figure it out myself actually.
    One foot is mine, one foot is my sons - he was taking the photo, while i was standing next to him.

I think I need to print off all the ausfishers boats and rego numbers because I am sure I come across them all the time and not know.

I motored to a set of bommies to the north of mud at about 9,00am today that I thought was MY secret spot. Found it by accident and had never seen anyone fishing there previously. Only to find another boat (centre console) sitting right on it. They probably thought I was just trying to steal their spot, but I really was going there. I was thinking that it may be the guys on this site that got a few snapper at mud recently.

By the time I left the area there were about 6 boats anchoured up. And this is a spot that normally never gets fished. Interesting that there were only a couple fo boats near the north cardinal.

If that was an ausfisher,,,, no I was not scouting your spot. I have 2 spots about 30m apart and just trying to work out where I could anchour and get to one ot them and not be in your way.

Allniter,,, I think I may need to scout your spots though. I have very quiet night.