townsville fires

Thread: townsville fires

townsville fires

12 boats from the gamefishing club where treated to awsome light gamefishing on saturday.

With 96 strikes, 64 hooked up and 42 black marlin tagged.

The boat I was on Salinity (haines 773L) tagged 5, with nelson tilly tagging 2 and myself tagging 3.

The billfish guys down south are in for a rip snorter for your light tackle season.

Re: townsville fires

That is a good day mate, the lads down south will be posting lots of piccies soon I imagine..............

Sportfish_5

Bring em on. Cant wait for this year's run of blacks - geared up and ready to go

Barrymundi

Huge day Ashley.

We tagged six, Tom 2, Toni 2, and me 2, my first ones

Al

Mad_Barry

Onya boys, top job

I had the kids dancing & acrobatic dispays on, hopefully they're still down there next weekend & I can catch some marlin acrobatics instead

so al

Did you get to drive or back donwn in tom's Big Riv?

Congrats on you first marlin.
    I also tagged my first with a tag pole and wired one as well, it just as good as catching one. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Ausfish Premium Member

Well done ashley! Over here in karratha our marlin bite has died off. We had our annual Billfish Shootout about a mouth ago and had 176 sails and 3 blacks tagged in 2 1/2 days across 45 boats.
    Do you find lures or baits most productive there? As far as marlin go in the pilbara the is a lot of water between fish and lures are to go (much to the delight of the local spaniard population!). What water temp did you get the billies in?

ashley, are you guys using circle hooks or j hooks? hopefully we get a good run this year, last years was a good one but only for a few weeks.

pointyfish and jeffo,

Their is very little lure fishing done in townsville.

I would say that it was 100% bait. The guys using live baits where using circles.

The guys trolling the standard skipping gars and swiming mullets where getting the most strikes at the end of each sked. So we started to troll.

The first two for us came on lives and circles and the other 3 on skippers and a swiming yakka set 3ft behind the teaser.

As far as water temp goes, to honest I didn't look as the action was full on.

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

It was 23.5C at Balgal. I was trolling my usual productive haunts listening to the 10am sked in frustration as I'd been on the water for 2 hours without so much as a hit.

I have this new theory that on the 1st July the Balgal Fingermark turn into Marlin and head south. We were also lucky to have a major trawler working the shoals just out from us. Should make for a great winter - NOT!

Gidday Whiteman
    Scoring many grunter around Balgal at the moment? Will be hitting Bluewater creek next week on the 3.2m tide. Big tides just before the full moon....if everything goes to plan

Barrymundi

Yes Ashley we backed down on one, tag in then off it went, I put the tag in four and released four at the back, at my age, it is better than sex

Al

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

Stunned, I never fish for Grunter although we have a couple in the club who consistently weigh in 3+kg models. They get them on the shoals near Tumulla.

Yeah Whiteman, grunter are not my preferred target however they are very tasty and numerous at present.Have been getting good numbers and size around Bluewater creek recently. Condition and adapt to what's there I reckon.
    The mullet

Well done Ashley, if you ever have a spare seat on your boat, PLEASE call me, I would love to join you and learn about marlin fishing

Love
    Gary [smiley=whip.gif]