Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cairns - Sudbury 14/07/05 - before the blow

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

Cairns - Sudbury 14/07/05 - before the blow

Went trolling at Sudbury last Thursday. Using bibbed lures caught six shark mackeral, two green jobbies and a big barracuda. No Spaniards though, however we did lose two big lures to decent fish, so who knows ??? Was a fantastic day out on the water and I'm sure everyone's hoping for this wind to dissappear before too long.

Re: Cairns - Sudbury 14/07/05 - before the blow

and shark mack...

...and a stinking big barracuda. We tried on the bottom for trout but things were a little slow.. only got one so trolled instead and had a great time.

welcome to the site and the fishingup there looks to be great god fish and keep up the good work

michael

Thanks michael, stumbled on this site by accident but it seems pretty good.

Mate not a bad catch considering some locals i spoke to that day didnt fair any good. There was stuff all run in the water that day. I did a report on the same day and did ok. "Inshore cairns" the reports is called on page two or three by now i reckon. Im new to Cairns from Brisbane and is good to see some cairns reports starting to come up !!

Shane

Cyclone

Wasn't it a perfect day on the water scuttlebutt haven't seen the sky so clear in a long time. I headed to Pixi trolled rigged gar for Macs no result so fished the bottom for four plump trout but slow fishing little run. moved to wide ground and trolled up two average spaniards. good report and good pics. Shane I'll have to have a look for your report I missed it, have you been out much since your move. Andrew.

Those green jobbies are seriously tasty fish. I'd take them over any mackeral, except maybe smoked slimies (you may scoff but try it before you knock it). I find the sharkies are great when fresh, but the flesh is a bit soft to freeze so usually end up releasing most of them.

I was stuck at Orpheus Is. and wasn't allowed to fish off the research boats there, so had to drool at the short lived glass-out conditions in awe.

Yeah it was awesome weather - didn't want to come home! When we got out to the end of Sudbury and put the lines down we noticed there was hardly any run and things were slow. That's when we decided to troll 'cause the fish didn't have any current to concentrate them on the usual pinnacles and dropoffs (that's my theory anyway). The Green Jobfish was great eating - my girlfriend commented how good it was and she normally eats trout! Glad I've got a few photos to look at while it's raining and windy outside.

Nice to hear from another NQ person as the SEQ on this site often overlook our fishing reports (I think they are just jealous) nice size shark mac , have the spotties come on yet up there?

aye welcome aboard mate. Good first report too. Not a bad effort at all, keep it up.
    Cheers, Mark.

Quote Originally Posted by bazzaman
    Mate not a bad catch considering some locals i spoke to that day didnt fair any good. There was stuff all run in the water that day. I did a report on the same day and did ok. "Inshore cairns" the reports is called on page two or three by now i reckon. Im new to Cairns from Brisbane and is good to see some cairns reports starting to come up !!

Shane
    Your right Shane bugger all run, but out where Daintreeboy and I got to there was plenty of current but still the fishing was quiet. Heres a few pics. BTW did any of you guys see any whales, seemed to be heaps out our way.

heres a few pics for yous

Cheers Ron
    Make something Idiot proof and they make better Idiots

The young calf

red