Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Swains Reef Bonanza 2005 !

Re: Swains Reef Bonanza 2005 !

looks like a great time had by all, fish & beer what better combination is there.
    kleiny

Top effort guys. I bet you all had a blast. Just wondering what the conditions would have to be like for the charter to be cancelled? For example, over 25 knots and its called off?
    The swell is very obvious in the photo with the beer. mmm..., beer, geez i could go a beer, oh hang on its only 9am. Better wait an hour.

Great report and great pics Damo. Just made me realise I really should take that day off and go fishing
    The mullet(aka Damo as well)

NeilD

Looks like a great time was had. What did the week cost you all up. We do the Bunkers on a regular basis but I would really like to get out to the Swains sometime.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse
    Looks like a great time was had. What did the week cost you all up. We do the Bunkers on a regular basis but I would really like to get out to the Swains sometime.

Neil,

Trip cost $1470 which is the same for next year
    We had a kitty of $230 each which covered 3 cartons of beer of your choice, secure parking, bait used on the trip (about $630 all up), terminal tackle (sinkers, hooks swivels, roll of 50lb mono for dropper rigs) and cans soft drinks consumed on board.
    Say $100 for Spirits or smokes
    So $1800 was the average bill per person for the seven days
    Damo.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick
    Just wondering what the conditions would have to be like for the charter to be cancelled? For example, over 25 knots and its called off?
    The swell is very obvious in the photo with the beer. mmm..., beer, geez i could go a beer, oh hang on its only 9am. Better wait an hour.
    Mick,
    Not sure what winds they wouldn't go out in, i'd imagine if there was a strong wind warning they would delay departure by a day or so. One night there it would have easily blown 40knts + but because we were behind a reef only had a small chop wich is different to SEQ chop # The skipper did get a gail force warning that night and it wasn't looking good for the next two days but we were lucky and it blew its self out overnight #

it was a bit like what time is it ?? ...... ah well it's 10am somewhere in the world as we cracked one #
    Damo.

We found this bloke dressed in rags and a turbin floating on a peice of drift wood ? .... so we gave him some aussie clobber, a beer and wacked on a gimble for him to do some fishing with us he seems to have 'bin' everywhere

Commodore

Great report BR, good pics too, I am going up on the 21st August for a week on Wyllaway cruises, cant wait.
    Looks like your refugee had no problem adjusting to his new surrounds.

Way to go Damo!!!!!
    Some nice fish there mate well done.

Regards, Tony

Deck space was good with one bait board servicing 2 - 3 blokes with plenty of staintess steel rod holders #

Great report Black Rat. It should be compulsory for all Ausfish boys to do an picture report as homework for the their trips away, like yours.

What a great trip the Swains reef is. Drinking plenty of piss with all your mates and fishing till you drop every day.

Heading up there in 7 weeks for the annual trip to Swains. Looking forward to it...

"Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

gday blackrat ,just read your post looks like you had a ball .were heading up november 19 , aboard the grey scout ,any tips for a first timer to swaine ,would be welcomed ,also i was thinking of taking a 10wht fly rod .enjoyed your post [smiley=2thumbsup.gif].

Quote Originally Posted by blue_rogue
    Great report Black Rat. It should be compulsory for all Ausfish boys to do an picture report as homework for the their trips away, like yours.

What a great trip the Swains reef is. Drinking plenty of piss with all your mates and fishing till you drop every day.

Heading up there in 7 weeks for the annual trip to #Swains. Looking forward to it...
    Yep nothing better then fishing with ya mates, beers flowing, fishings great and the music is pumping on the back deck # dosen't get much better. Good luck on ya trip look forward to the reports and i reckon after day two it was a mutual decision by all it should be an anual event #
    Damo.

Quote Originally Posted by willbarra
    gday blackrat ,just read your post looks like you had a ball .were heading up november 19 , aboard the grey scout ,any tips for a first timer to swaine ,would be welcomed ,also i was thinking of taking a 10wht #fly rod .enjoyed your post #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif].
    1. Ear plugs if your a lite sleeper.
    2. Heavy gear 50lb +
    3. Plenty of tackle. We lost about 100 3/4 pound leads, 50 pound leads, 50 8 ball sized sinkers, 30 sets of 6/0 3 gang hooks, 200 8/0 hooks, 100 9/0 hooks & 150 - 200m 50lb mono for dropper rigs.
    4. 20m of 120lb + stainless steel trace with 50 + crimp sleeves (60lb wire trace got torn to shreads by some big fish)
    5. Big lures for trolling or the squid type lures (bring a few normally only last one or two strikes)
    6. #More booze or smokes then you think you'll consume (long way to 7/11 from swains if ya run out #)
    7. Motion sickness pills. Kwells or Travelcam.
    8. Wetweather gear.
    9. A gimble (a bait bucket and knife on a belt were handy)
    10. Good mates/company

Enjoy ya trip #

Damo.

also add 3 lighters per person... 9/0's seem to be the way to go