Thread: FLATTIES IN THE TWEED

Re: FLATTIES IN THE TWEED

It's great to catch a big Flattie of that size but it is a big breeding female and you would of released it. Although someone less caring than you will catch it next month and keep it and brag to everyone. Release the big breeding females and keep the smaller ones,they are much nicer to eat.

Yeah its wierd how in Qld you may not keep any big fish but in NSW you can keep one .

Hell of a lizzard [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Retired Honda Master Tech

mmm very nice, who am i kidding?its bloody huge good on ya letting it go too

Giday flickflack,
    Thanks an awesome fish. The kind one may only catch once in a lifetime... Anyhow, just wondering about the sizes of lure and jig heads you were using, and the water depth and current strength in the area you were fishing. We have caught some nice flatties (up to 58 cm)around the moolooaba warf using mainly size two squidy fish and a 1/8 ounce jig head. To tempt the sort of animal you've got there - do i need to try with larger lures and jig heads?? Any info you could give me would be fantastic,
    Regards, Fritzy.

Fritzy

Steve got that one on a 1/2 ounce jighead with a 4 inch grub
    We were fishing in quite a strong current in 25ft of water.I was catching 40cm fish on 6 inch minnows,so dont be shy to use big plastics flatties arnt scared of them.If I am targetting them I will go bigger even up to a squidgie 150 on a 3 ounce jighead.
    Good Luck

Might have to hit the Tweed next week in search of a lizzard!

Top fish!
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Cheers Flickflack,
    Thanks for the tips. Might have to have a go at em at soutport this arvo - any word on how the seaway has been fishing?? Can i also ask what sort of braid and leader (weight) you like to you. I tend to use my light spinning gear with 6 pound fireline and 8 pound nitron leader - probably too light for a horse like that eh??
    Fritzy

a

Thats HUUUGGGEEE
    I pulled an 85cm old girl out of the pumicestone about a month ago but had no camera on board. Thanks for the memories, you really know your onto something when these old girls give you the famous head shake...

Well done.

Fritzy
    If I am going to just be targetting flathead with big plastics then I use my baitcasting outfit with 14lb braid and 40lb leader.Dont want to be rubbed off by a big fish that you have been trying for a few months to hook because your leader is too light. If I am fishing areas that have bream and flathead then I will fish a spin stick with 6lb braid and 10lb leader with smaller plastics.I got one of 78cm last year at currumbin on 4lb braid with a 6lb leader and there wasnt a mark on the leader.
    You could probably land 9 out of ten big flatties on the light stuff but If I am fishing for them I will rather make sure.I use any of the florocarbon leaders and fireline or platapus super braid,but I dont think it really matters that much.
    Roderick

Beautiful mate,
    will note that down. Have to respool the old abu with some new braid!! Thanks heaps again for the hot tips.
    Fritzy

AWESOME!!! Any idea what it weighed? My biggest was 79cm and it was really skinny. It only weighed about3kg if i rememeber.

Not sure but it was in really good condition, maybe 5kg.

Rod

top fish, beaut photo

congrats Steve and Roderick

Hi guys.After seeing flickflacks nice flatty it inspired me to give the SP"S another go.Went down to the pin on Saturday fished the run in tide around the bar,and to my surprise I started catching fish which is a nice change.caught lots of flathead around 35 to 40cm.Can"t wait for the next trip, it"s funny how catching fish on lures is so much more fun even if they were small.