Curtis Island/Gladstone... Bring on the Pain
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Curtis Island/Gladstone... Bring on the Pain

Curtis Island/Gladstone... Bring on the Pain

After only 2 weeks from Pancake.. it was time to head north again,

Matt (Matthill80) was organised to do some work at the cabins at Cape Capricorn Lighthouse on the north eastern tip of Curtis Island near Gladstone and I was lucky enough to be offered a spot on the trip.. and then a very very late minute ring in.. Rob (Mackmauler aka the Piscatorial Assassin) sneaked in.. only a few hours before we left.. so with 3 of us.. we took my tow rig and Matt's haines v17c up to gladstone around 3-4am on Saturday morning for a week of fishing.. with a heavy boat and rough conditions.. we took the run along the sea side because it was too low in the tide for taking the run up the narrows... the going was slow.. but we all eventually made it up there.. .. a very short 50km run

Once there we spent about 2hrs unloading 2 boats.. Matt's boat and his mate Bruce's boat who is the lease holder for Cape Capricorn Lighthouse Cabins (rentable and im sure matt can wack up a phone number later if anyone decides on a trip up there)

The next day Matt got stuck into working.. rewiring up the cabins and redoing some bodgy bushman wiring for the day.. while Rob and I helped/supervised/*#@&ed around so we could have the next few days free for fishing..

Monday morning, bright beautiful day.. and the mosi's were literally carrying you away.. there was no hiding from them.. everytime you tried to bat them away.. you'd hit 20 or 30 of the buggers.. and they'd be crawling over your clothes.. and yes. even breathing the buggers in.. we eventually got to the boat.. and got out to a few spots.. but unfortunately.. Rob donned the pink shoes... after years of 4stroke use.. the 2stroke fumes got to him and he was feeling pretty crook.. conditions werent crash hot.. so after an hour or so.. headed back.. Rob went back up to the cabin while Matt and I fished around the headland, getting some bream, cod, pike, trevally and mackerel.

Tuesday morning we braved the conditions... it was a pure glassout! and went out to another mark... the surface was rippling with bait fish.. dolphins.. tuna and stuff.. and the sounder was showing fish life galore, so we anchored up.. 1st drop.. a fish.. a big bludger trevally.. for the day.. we caught heaps of bludger trevally on soft plastics, knife jigs, and 10gram slugs.. aswell as golden trevally, long nosed trevally, gold spot trevally and so on.. towards the end of the day.. Rob managed to get 3 cobes.. with the biggest around 30kg..

we fished there the next day aswell.. with the same conditions.. but even bigger fish around.. i spent most of my time fishing a knife jig on the tld setup.. or Matt's 4kg spin outfit.. which is merely a bream stick with 10lb fireline... scored plenty of golden trevally, bludgers.. and at the end.. a nice sized diamond trevally... and for rob.. another bloody big cobia.. (which miffed me and Matt, cuz we wanted one too.. i wasnt fishing for them tho.. but Matt was)

Thursday was the day home.. so we cleaned our cabin.. packed our gear and were on the water by 12.. the conditions had changed and it wasnt that great.. so took the narrows back to gladstone.. a slowish ride home due to an alarm always going off in Matt's boat but we were back in by 4:30...

Loaded my truck up then headed home... around 9ish we were coming through Gympie when a fella from Bundy decided to pull out of a fast food driveway infront of us.. we managed to give him a bit of a clipping and did a bit of damage to both cars... bit hard to stop with a big boat behind ya and nowhere to stop.... we were heading home.. he was heading to a funeral with his wife and kids.. poor bugger.... after doing the neccessarys.. we were back on our way ... back to my place to unload.. then Matt and Rob had to do there trip back to Brissy

Awesome trip, thanks for the invite Matto! another spot to mark down for future trips..

p.s. the island is crawling with pigs..

Heres a few pics to start ya off.. this is the trolley system at the lighthouse.. only true way up to carry stuff.. lots of fun.. and bloody steep!

Re: Curtis Island... Bring on the Pain

Matto

Robbo

Me

k

nice location, nice weather, nive cobia
    kleiny

o

;

;'

Looks like a few fish got unlucky this wk in CQ, the place wont win any prizes in the attractive states but the fishn isnt to shabby.

The better weather has followed us south at least, thanks for the trip matt, ill arrange a snappa for you this wk

<><tim and one of his light gear trevas.

25kgs worth of brown slug, pulled like a mofo.

matt and a golden

wouldnt you know it a lucky phills special found its way down this ones throat.

matt and the stock standard few minutes of pain we became accustomed to.