Thread: Birthday Surprise

Birthday Surprise

I would just like to post a late report for Friday 9 Sept 2005.

I had a flex, as you do, coming up to your Birthday! and arranged with Mark for a quite fish. Mark informed me that the "Bull"(The name he has given to his boat, alright Mark its full name is Ragging Bull!)was primed and ready to go after the installation of the furuno sounder.

Thursday had me checking seabreeze constantly every 15mins at work and finally as the working day drew to a close without any change to the forecast my excietment grew. I called Mark and the trip was set in stone, or moreso concrete, coming from a Italian backgroud.

Friday 05.40 we were in the water, the fog was lifting, spirits high and heading to spot X, Y & Z, once on the spot we started gathering live bait and within 10 min had all we needed. With good soundings of fish we decided to fish on spot X, Mark on a 3 hook pat rig and my self jigging.

After Mark had caught 2 jew and with some coaching from mark I changed to the same, and yes Mark it was one of your pre rigged set ups. First drop using yellow tail as bait and Bang something big grabbed it and gave me merry hell. I looked over to see Marks' jaw on the bottom of the boat and steam from his ears, aka Milton the Monster!

15 min latter and the biggest Jew of my life came alongside and with the skill of a seasoned pro Mark gaffed it and was in the esky before I could say ant expletives*****

We continued fishing and Mark noticed some large fish arches showing up around the bait ball and then right on que the Banax screamed to life.
    This was no Jew it fought hard and with large runs. It took me another 15 min to get what turned out to be a Mack Tuna to the boat and the Mark the Gaff to have this in the esky as well. It was now 0830 had we had around 7 school Jew a monster Jew and a Mack on board.

The action slowed down I was stuffed a good time to grab a bite to eat and a drink but first a live bait down to the bottom just in case!

After a break and moving to spots W & Z I decided to check on the bait that had been in the water for over 1/2 an hour, I removed the banax from its holder and started to retrieve the bait when the reel screamed and line came pouring off at a great rate of knots. I screamed to Mark that I will be spooled in about 2 minutes (or words to that effect) and he had the other rods in and the boat running within 30 secs. That was 0950 and for the next 20 min we chased what we thought was a cobia. I would gain some line only to have it peeled straight back off. At about the 20min mark I noticed my fluro sinker in the air and a huge splash about 20 meters port of the boat, I yelled out to Mark "did you see that, it's a Marlin" his response was, to say the least one of disbelief and a raft of unkind words were let fly. Then all of a sudden right in front of him out came the figment of my imagination! The fight took 2hrs 10min and was the best time of my life, the fish lept, thrashed, came to the boat numerous times and tail wrapped itself. I couldn't fight it the whole time but with Marks help we had it within boating distance and so called it caught. Mark said to me that he would gaff the thing if it came up one more time and with that I had visions of Mark gaff in hand being towed to the bottom my this magestic beast. We both thought it best when the fish came along side and with one last dive broke off and disappeared.

It is a day that will live long in my memory and a special thanks to Mark and Ragging Bull for the day.

I would also like to thank Russell, formerly of Browns Plains Bait and Tackle for recomending the Banax SX 5000 and for the great jobhe did tricking up the drag system. The reel didn't miss a beat.
    Just for the record we estimated the Marlin to be about 150-200kg mark, I had a Banax 5000 loaded with 30 pound line and 60 pound leader and a 6-8kg Gold Uglystick.

Thanks for Indulging me

Joe

PS One lesson we did learn is that you should always have a camera on board, hey Mark!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PSS I took the fillets off the Mack Tuna and marinaded them with Olive oil, garlic, cumin, fresh corriander and mint, chilli to taste and allowed them 30 min to marinade (overnight is better) and they come up a treat!
    The rest of the fish is cut up for bait/berley.

Re: Birthday Surprise

200kg Marlin on a 6-8kg rod Great story in anycase, i sure would of liked to see some pics! That must be some kind of record! I am sure someone can help me out here?

Mitch

Don't know about any records as the rod was supported on the boat numerous times and handed between Mark and myself. The guesstamation of weight was based on Marks learned eye and size of fish to boat ratio!

6-8kg rod????????????? lucky it was an uglystick, those things are unreal!

yep the 150 -200kg might be stretching it a little bit, what sort of depth were you in and location ie mool, north stradie, gold coast??

Yes, I know that it is hard to believe but it was a 6-8kg stick, as for the location I have been sworn to secrecy but check out Ragging Bulls thread titled Malin/Jew NE Goldie

I am still coming to grips with the day, the fish and the gear. It has certainly changed a few ideas that I have on this type of fishing :exclamation

Joe

in around 50mtr of water, still reckon you might be stretchin it abit, those fellas are usually found out near the shelf, or at least wher its atarting to drop off seriously. but who knows??

Joe
    No MORE !!!
    I could not stop chuckling to myself.
    Mate I could see myself being pulled overboard and still holding on for dear life.
    Had the Tuna last night. NOT TOO BAD!!
    Sent the photo's home and work

What, no more of what?

I am glad you enjoyed the Tuna, but it doesn't seem that too many people believe the facts!!!

Next time camera for sure >

i believe ya mate, anything can happen out there on the water.

there are no rules.

hi joe
    what a birthday i wish i could have one like that i believe you down on the south coast we were caugth marlin this year in 60 fms and some were catch in 20fms also.
    danny

Good read

yeap take the camera next time

MAD!