Thread: Barwons [I see Red] 10-9

Barwons [I see Red] 10-9

Headed to the Barwons again on Saturday, left ramp at 4.30am. had a dream run out, started fishing just before sun-up. Last fished this spot 3 weeks ago and bagged out on snapper in the 4-5kg size. Well no big ones today but did get about half a dozen around 2.5 to 3.5kg. good eating size Best fish of the day was a Red Emporer that took my new digital scales to 6kg. caught by yours truly, which is my best to date. I know its not in Reefmasters [or Terrys 18.1kg ] league but I was still rapped with a PB.
    I love how hard these fish go, Lucky Phil [first mate] and I got bricked a few times, so we didnt get it all our way.
    Wind started to get up around noon, so made the decison to head back in, glad we did as the wind was blowin hard by the time we got back to the ramp. Cleaned the fish back at the ramp could not get over the audience at cleaning table
    Hope to get out a few more times before this great snapper season is over.
    Cheers Troy.

Re: Barwons [I see Red] 10-9

Cleaning time, it was so windy that every time Phil turned the tap on it gave me a shower down the other end of the table, I think I have just given him a gob full for the free shower

Ausfish New Member

Well done Zulu!!

That's a nice Red and they are GREAT PICS!!

Zeus

Thanks Zeus, my brother lives nearby and is pretty handy with the camera, unfortuneatley not that good on the water Better get a bucket

good pic
    great red
    did u go north or south

South about 45m of water.

Nice red mate! Landed one on the northern banks 4 weeks ago went 7-8kg they certainly go like the clappers!

Mitch

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Top fish hope some come my way
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Nice Fish

Well done

MAD!

great work mate today looks like it would be a good day to head out againg

id check your scales those didgitals can be out and unless the photos no good that fish is no where near 6 kilo but a legal red at the banks is a feather in the cap anyway well done hope more come your and MY way.

I agree FOOCKCHUCKER the one in my aviator is just on 8kg was much larger than that one but a great fish in any case! Keep up the good work!

Mitch

Nice Red Well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Reds are a pretty solid fish. I wouldn't doubt it is 6kg.

Well well Troy i think the barwon banks maybe your place mate.
    Good stuff you must be a very happy man with that red. I think we will see alot more of them on the banks in the near future.

As far as the weight goes i reckon its 6kg. Reds are very deceiving in looks and are an extremely thick fish (take a look at the red beside the snapper on the cleaning table) The pic has been taken after the fish has been squashed up in the esky and i can say that Troy is no bull craper and honest as they came.

Top stuff Troy

Cheers Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.