Thread: Good Morning Bassing.

Good Morning Bassing.

Went this morning for a quick fish before work. I hadnt caught bass for a while so arranged for Bennie to meet me at my house and we hit the creek at daybreak. The idea was to target them with sps and poppers in the snags. We had a bit of a slow start but after a quick move higher up the creek Bennie got one of 44cm then another one straight after. I hooked a big trevally that stitched me up pretty quick on an atomic jerk worm and then got bust off by a good size bass in a snag. Decided to drop the lighty gear and on went the 13lb floro leader. We ended up with quite a few bass and a few small flatties for the session with the majority falling to atomic jerk baits. We did pin a couple on small minnows and bennie gave his trusty black popper a pretty good workout too.
    All in all a good morning on the water with absolutely awesome weather. The water was already up around the 22 degree area so I think the next morning session will be for jacks.

Re: Good Morning Bassing.

Bennie with his 44cm bass

Me with a good one on the 2 inch shad

One on a jerk bait

One on a minnow

Flickflack

Great pics mate. Were you in the Tweed River ?

PK

PK
    I sent you a pm mate

G'day flickflack, Top picks!!! Just finished reading QFM and would love to know where abouts in the Tweed did you pick up that 'thumper' Jack. Any help would be appreciated [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
    Cheers stubbie

Healthy looking bass there rod. How did you know it was a trevally that busted you up? Was it a distinctive feel or did you see it?

that snag in the pic with the 2" shad gives away your location A great spot to fish because you never really know what you are going to catch on the next cast!

Yeah mate we saw them busting up on bait so I flicked my sp at them on my 4lb a quick way to find a new snag in the middle of the river. He chased the sp to the boat and then went on a run and cut me off on the tree

Elysium

It is a top spot that there was just tons of bait around it.

Stubbie

Send me a pm mate, you are talking about a very touchy subject with the season just getting under way.

Is the 2 inch shad an atomic, in the rainbow trout colour?

Hey Rod & Bennie well done boys.

We've been fishing the Hinze this week on a couple of afternoon's, hoping to get em in the shallows on surface lures. But the times we were there twas too cold, no bugs on the water, and they were all down deep at 30 feet. We nailed em on the troll to 39cm, but it's never as fun as the surface strike on a fizzer!!

From your report the mornings would've been better, but today was much warmer too.

Can't wait to hit the local big bass spot this summer!!

yup thats the one, it was a bit difficult fishing the open jighead in the sticks though.

Point_Blank

franco

you sure are right there mate there is nothing more exciting the surface fishing but they hit hard enough to make any type of fishing for them exciting

bennie