SP JACKS AND TOADFISH IN THE TWEED
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: SP JACKS AND TOADFISH IN THE TWEED

SP JACKS AND TOADFISH IN THE TWEED

Hi guys

Me and my mate Blainey went for a fish up the Tweed River this morning to try for a few jacks. The idea was a bit of early morning trolling followed up by some sp's. Steve hooked what we thought was a big bag on the troll and when we pulled it in it turned out to be a huge toadfish. A few trolls later my Liviley lure (mad mullet) was slammed. I managed to wrestle a 50cm jack out which made the early start worthwhile. No more hits after that so we changed over to sp's. I just bought a megabass spin stick off RAEF so wanted to give it a go. Landed another jack that went 42cm on a 3 inch atomic jerkbait second cast. Caught one more flathead of 52cm before deciding to head home for breakie. A pretty good morning with the weather playing along nicely. Its turnung out to be a good Jack season judging by the amount of posts on the site.

Good fishing
    Roderick.

Re: SP JACKS AND TOADFISH IN THE TWEED

The 50cm jack

the 42cm jack on sp

close up

Steve and Toadfish

and again

Well Done Rod
    Your doing well on the jacks, they are beautiful fish
    Did you release them or keep them?
    Morty

WHOA ... hahahahah, that is the ugliest dam thing i have ever seen. MY GOD> wat a mother in law of a fish.

Some awesome jacks there as usual mate, 50cm is a fair sorta fish to pull out of the snags.

Just revised me questions, lol should read the post more carefully!

The tweed sure has some great looking country for them

JB

Rod, what sort of outfit did you catch the 42cm fish on? never seen that type of rod butt before. ??

Morty
    Threw them all back mate including the toadfish
    JB
    It is a Megabass 6ft spin rod called a hedgehogg destroyer or something.I bought it off Raef on monday. He brought them back from Japan. It is an awesome weapon.

gogecko

Well done again Rod, its getting monotonoous.....

How do you select which part of the river you fish?

Do you chooose mainly by looking at bank/tree structure OR by electronics (drop offs, shallows) OR are they just spots you know ?

Do you find the same tactics work when you fish a river for the first time?

Well done Rod.....another day of sleep walking at work?????

Gogecko

A few of the spots blainey showed me on the Tweed but it has been a case of fishing the river from the bar to the weir and sounding out likely looking spots and then fishing them. I spent heaps of time just looking around after i have caught a few I like to go exploring. It always helps for future trips. The spots seem to be very similar but I havent fished many different rivers in Aus so hard to say mate. Pretty much just get on the water and try a few different things that I think the fish will want on the day.

Beautifull colours in those fish. Good work Rod.

Hmmm your the unlucky bugger who ended up with some of Raef's gear aye.

Sorry but a megabass rod with a stella over estuary jacks anyday... sort of anyway!

What are the specs on that spin stick ?

CT