Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 53cm Jack Monday Morning

53cm Jack Monday Morning

Hi Guys
    Went for an early morning jack fish On monday and got a nice 53cm jack . It must be a special length because I have now caught three jacks of exactly 53cm. The fish had been hooked before as there was a metre of 10lb line hanging out the jacks mouth with a small hook in its throat. I couldnt remove the hook without doing more damage so just snipped the line of as close as I could and after a few quick pics he was swimming again. Maybe next time he will be 55cm It does show us just how much pressure gets put on these fish in summer and hopefully more of them will get released. I got the fish on a liveley lures mad mullet in chrome blue. I have substituted the standard hooks with Gamakatsu heavy duties and havent had one opened yet. That is saying something because I troll with a black sheep overhead that has 7kg of drag. The weather was pretty ordinary when we left the house with a bit of rain but was pretty happy with the result.

Good fishing Rod.

Re: 53cm Jack Monday Morning

Yet another awesome fish rod! As someone might say - Any pics? Keep it up! You've had an awesome start to the season.
    Jackash

the 53cm jack

close up

Great looking fish again. Do you ever target a fish and not catch it??? Well done again.

and another

beautiful fish mate, good stuff!

Very impressive fish, well done!

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

How much did you pay for the blacksheep Roderick? And is that the smaller 250 or the 300? Cant quite make it out in the pic.

Nice jack btw

Ash
    Did you get my pm mate, it was just too much info to type

CT
    It is the 300 mate, got it for a very good price from a mate of mine. He bought two 300's and then wanted a 250 instead so I was happy to help him out

Yeah I did, thanks Rod. In the middle of final Yr 12 exams atm (shouldnt be on here), but I'll contact you on the weekend.
    Jackash

Rod,
    You did it again! your are unreal
    Good on ya
    Morty

nice fish rod, have to try do that fish again this december, well done

No worries Scott just give me a shout when you get here.

flick flack,

its been said in a lot of posts but every time i see one of your posts i feel like it has to be said again, you really are on fire!! I wish i could catch half the fish of half the quality you seem to manage every trip!! Keep up the good work, loving the reports!!

FINCHO