6  Jewie Day !!!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 6  Jewie Day !!!

6  Jewie Day !!!

Met up with Tony Zann for a fish on Monday with the intention of pinning a few Jew on Softies. The day started off really slow with heaps of muck floating in the river so we scouted around for some clean water catching the odd flathead to keep us interested. We did manage a few around the 50 To 60cm range but not what we were after. I stuck with the heavy gear and big plastics while Tony decided that he would fish light and catch whatever came along, luckily for us he did. Tony got the first soapie on a 4 inch berkley minnow that put a bit of a smile on our faces. After I got a few more flatties on the 6 inch minnows he pinned another good size jew that gave him the run around on the light gear. The fish went 87cm and 5.3kg. A good fish on light gear. He had a docs appointment so I went and dropped him off and after a bit of a break went out again for the aavo. The tide was really ripping out so I threw a few deep divers out the back and decided to kill a bit af time waiting for it to slow down. I only went about 20 m when the one rod screamed off. A 87cm jew was gladly netted, well that made the trip right there. I got another one of 85cm towing about an hour later and then decided it was tmie to go the softies again. Tony had got his fishing with a 1/8 ounce gamakatsu darter jighead , which I didnt have so I went with a 1/4 ounce roundball Gamakatsu jighead and stuck on a zoom super fluke in lemon shad on the 4 lb bream rod. about 6th cast I felt a tap and came up solid. jew no 5 hit the net a few mins later and I pinned no 6 just before it was time to head home.
    What a day !!!!!!
    I think it will be pretty hard to duplicate such an awesome day Tony and me both fept one each for a feed and all the rest were released. Had mine grilled in the oven last night very nice

Good fishing Guys

Roderick.

Re: 6 Jewie Day !!!

Tony with no 2

a close up

First one on hardbody

no 2 on the hardbody

jew no 5

And no 6

Good on you rod
    Really well done
    I think its time to start up Flickflacks Fishing Adventures on channel 7 Saturday avo
    Morty

What can one say! Especially on hard body lures. Mike

Rod, forgot to ask. Was it in the Tweed? Ta, Mike.

Some quality fish there Rod ...... love your reports. Keep em coming!

LOL apologies for the on-going tackle queries but are there tacklo's down the tweed which have stock of the Segaeke that you are using? And how much do they retail for down your way? I have been trying to track one down since my local tacklo sold out on em

CT

Wow - that's fantastic, nice job! What kind of technique were you using with the plastics? Flicking them into structure?

and again....... top work rod, see if we can get one at chrissy ay

gogecko

Well done Rod, just another day at the office , eh?

I must say a big thank you for the level of assistance that you give all here. It doesnt matter whether its a newbie or an old timer, you are always willing to share advice on tackle, rigs, and lure techniques. Im sure all of of us agree that we really appreciate the level of openess you give. No, I dont want to know your spots and would never ask. All we want is help with techniques, and Ive noticed that you answer nearly every question put to you.

So one more question, if I may...
    You mention current. How do you deal with strong current? Do you throw your deep divers out the back at anchor, or troll?

I was off Wavebreak Is Sat nite and the current was ripping. A 5in Drop Bear SP with very heavy jighead (I think its 1.5 oz) couldnt find bottom, so I threw a hard bodied jew lure out that dives to 20ft. We were anchored over a large baitfish school and the sounder went beserk. I could feel the lures action working as it should, and the current was enough to keep it deep, even on the pick. Yet nothing bit. I changed lures a few times, tried a rattler, and although the big fish were under the school for a half hour, nothing bit. Should I give up and go home when the current is too strong? I notice most of the other boats did.

Its very frustrating when you can see your over lots of fish, yet nothing in the tackle box is working.

No mate a bit further south

CT
    I think Graham at angler's warehouse might still have. not sure on price, they are an awesome rod bud

Manacubus

no structure mate just fishing them slowly close to the bottom in deep water around bait.

goge

Tuff question its hard to fish anything in that current around wavebreak, but if you wait for the change it might only give you a few minutes thats normally the time when you can get them on sp's, you can also try a drop shot rig in heavy current where you put a weight at the bottom and your hook about a foot and a half above the weight. Fish a sp just lightly hooked through the nose. Always try to fish it vertically with an up and down motion, I have done well like this in current. as you go bigger with the weight increase the size of sp and just make sure the sp doesnt spin on the drop it must swim straight down.