Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bay 24th

Darryl

Bay 24th

Well started off with wifey and i wanting to have 4 days on the water at curtain, didn't work that way as usual, we knew the afternoon storms were going to be a problem but couldn't get over yesterday afternoon so decided to fish the bottom reefs around peel for the usual squire etc.

Headed up lazerus's gutter for a camp and thought we would start an early attack for curtain before the wind got up. Got up at 430am and started too head out towards mud too have a quick look before we headed over to curtain.

Birds started going nuts so of course had to get the mighty lures out and have a go. At first i thought knowing my luck it would be a school of catfish but first cast and i was on to something pretty good. After about 20 minutes as i was only fishing light i boated my first ever longtail.

I was over the moon as the boat was covered in blood and of course had wifey going off in the background about the blood in the boat. I was that happy i could have smeared the blood over my face like war paint.

So after the first i thought i want another, and of course i nearly needed a defibulator after the first one as i'm unfit as the come of late. Cut a long story short i ended up getting 3 longtails in the boat in about an hour, which was just as well becase it got pretty rough and was quite uncomfortable.

So i'm as pround as punch to get my first longtails out of the bay and even though the weather was absoulute crap we still enjoyed ourselves.

Fish were caught on 10 gram halco's with a slosh of pink on them on a diawa ondine 3500 reel with a 6 /10 kg shakespear emerald uglystick between peel and green island.

Darryl

Re: Bay 24th

Darryl

land_based

Great looking fish mate and great photo too. I bet he gave you some curry on light gear!!

Darryl

Ow and nearly clobbered this on my way past green.

And no fellas there were no mahi mahi under it

Anyways hope i didnt bore yas but that was my day that i enjoyed even though conditions were crap.

Darryl

Darryl

Certainly gave me curry landbased, they are great fun mate i can tell ya on light gear.

Top stuff Darryl.
    Bit a bad luck about cutting the trip short tho.

Next time we go into the bay i'll have to have you along my last Skippa didn't put us onto any fish. Not his fault tho. I just recently heard he's a little nuts .

Talk soon hey.

It's FULLY SIC man

Darryl

Hhaaah for sure brett , i reckon it must have been webbys lucky esky i bought off him mate, it's a fish magnet, holds a lot of beer too .

Mate at least you wont get wet in the carribean

Sorry tony, had to say it .

Lovely Report well done I will have to get out and give that a go . This is my first summer with a boat up here and I plan to make the most of it. Thanks for all the info to, it would be great if more people coughed up some once in a while .

Darryl

Mate i'm happy to give out what info i can, despite what everywhone says there are a shitload of fish out there to be had. I'm pretty new to the bay as most of my fishing has been done off the gold coast.

But it's just about getting out there and having a look. If you are anywhere near peel island at sun up and head north mate look for the birds and these guys or bonito are always there, nearly every morning.

Crestcutter,
    Now thats a great post - good story, good info, no crap.
    You have to be keen to fish in those conditions - well done.
    Am puzzled though, tuna on bait board - what is hanging out of its mouth ??
    What type of lures??
    Rip.
    Haines Hunter 650 'Horizon' 200 4st Johnson (aka Suk DF200) call sign "Dozer" or "Uripper"

Darryl

Thats the 10 gram Halco lure mate hanging out of its mouth. Wifey was taking 20 pictures a second. Yeah just the lure mate, i was looking for the clobbering stick to calm it down so it had only just hit the deck.

Shitty picture of the lure but should give you an idea rip.

Any wonder you had to go fishin Darryl your dinner plate not looking all that full mate. .

Love the bit about the hugs and kisses freakin about the blood..
    It's FULLY SIC man

That's some really nice longtail mate, it's amazing what you can spin up in the paddock...

[smiley=laola.gif] CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

That's a very nice effort mate! Especially in close!!!

Gotta get me one of them buggers....

What line did you catch them on? Did you find it hard to wind really fast with the 3500?