Jack-O-Rama!

Thread: Jack-O-Rama!

Jack-O-Rama!

Hooked up with Roderick for a spontaneous, last-minute jack fishing session.
    In order to try and redeem himself as The Jack Master after his close but convincing defeat by Mrs Flickflack, We cruised the River and tried to analyse the success rate of recent "guests" on our boats. We came to the conclusion that we had been far too nice, polite and helpful to our friends and / or better halves, consequently compromising our own catch rates. We realised that we had to regroup, focus, and come out with all guns blazing to re-establish the correct piscator pecking order .........

And that's exactly what we did. Now enlightened, and with the thoughts above cemented in our brains, We proceeded to get on the boat, hang serious shit on eachother, tell disgusting jokes (He is a sick dude), and make eachother laugh in an attempt to put eachother's game off and knock out the opposition! [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=behead.gif]

All I can say is that Rod played hard and caught the first fish, but it took a Gold Coast river junkie to get out there and show the tweed boy how it's done. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=grin.gif]
    Just joking Buddy!

Total 3 jacks: 2 babies in the 30-40cm range, and one 50cm (2 on the troll, 1 on SP's)

PS Rod, you can try to hide your embarrassed face all you like behind that rod mate!! (He kept going on about how big His Tweed pets were!)

Re: Jack-Orama!

A testimony to how aggressive thse things are ... checkout the size of the lure it ate!

The rebuttal: Small 30-something jack on a SP

I'll see you, and raise you 50cm........

This fish hit Roderick's lure on the 1st run, and 2nd troll back didn't hesitate. The match could've gone either way!

All fish released to compete again. Next time my home ground, Rod! [smiley=devilish.gif] [smiley=evil.gif]

land_based

Re: Jack-O-Rama!

Awesome report mate, it seems you guys are running those canals!!!

Land_based I'd say that very few of the jacks that are caught actually end up posted on this site. Most jack fisho's keep their lips pretty tight. Unfortunately, in some instances on the Gold coast / Tweed area, instead of ending up in photo's, a lot of these superb sportsfish end up in the esky. I myself keep only the first one of the season, then release the rest.

Don't get me wrong, I LOVE eating these fish as you could tell from another recent thread of mine, but there are so few of them caught (when compared to fish such as flathead) they fight so hard, and take so much effort to catch (in southern waters at least!) that these days I am on the verge of not keeping any at all. No matter how good they taste, the feeling of an aggro jack smashing your lure is ALWAYS better!

But trust me there are other guys We know out there catching lotsofem, who are releasing them too.

nice jacks.Looks like you had a ball.great stuff

wanna tell us one of these sick jokes?? top work guys

Ausfish Premium Member

Great stuff Franco, very good read mate..

Benno

You guys certainly have the jacks wired. I'd be happy with just one for the season. I had a good laugh at the story as I can certainly relate to it with my mates - especially the bagging each other out!!!

DaneCross

That 50cm number looks a great specimen - top fish. I like they way you guys aren't afraid to show your lures off in your photos too. I know there's more to it than lure selection but many a fisho wouldn't be giving that kind of info away - you're pictures are always top-notch, complete with rod, fish and angler. Great stuff [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

nice fish lads, seem u boys are gettin amongst a few jacks down the coast way. well done good report and photos. how many hours did u put in for those three fish?
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Franco

It was a top evening with heaps of laughs, I was really glad I managed to pull my lure away from that last fish so that you could catch it ( it was close though it almost grabbed it)
    Definately looking forward to round number 2 on your home waters. Regarding the hours we put in, probably about 2 and a half of serious fishing and another 2 hours of bagging which was probably when the fish were caught. I was definately interrupted by my Jack while telling a joke about April Fools day .
    TILL NEXT TIME

Excellent fish.
    The 50cm is a really good conditioned fish, and looks superb in the photo
    Well done, you guys are doing very well on the jacks at present.
    Morty

congrats guys and always great to read your reports, especially the C&R element.

sam