Some More Jacks in the rain
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Some More Jacks in the rain

Some More Jacks in the rain

Closed up shop Sunday night and took my mate Kev out for a Jack fish to see if he coud get his first Jack for the season.The weather was pretty ordinary with blustery winds and rain but hey who said Jack fishing was meant to be easy. The fish were reaaly finicky and we had a few hits on the hardbodies without the fish hooking up. Pretty hard to believe that they can wack a lure with three trebles on and not get pinned, but they do. I decided to take a chance and took out the 8lb spin gear with a 10lb leader and tied on a smaller lure( the thinner gear was to try and get the smaller lure down deeper) hopefully the fish would take the lure better, wether or not I could land them is another story. First troll and crunch managed a 41cm Jack on the light gear, awesome fun. Decided to move to another spot were we had a good hit but decided to give the light gear a miss because it is that foul. Kev got smashed this time and landed a good 48cm Jack with smiles all round for the first of the season. I then did one more troll on the way home with the spin stick and off went the reel . Man do these fish go hard on the lighter gear. To my absolute amazement the fish swam out on the lighter drag and we towed him away into the channel were I could take my time. Manged to slip the net under a 52cm model with beautiful colouring. So Kev got his first and I got a pb on the spin gear not bad for a rainy windy Sunday night.

Re: Some More Jacks in the rain

Kev with his jack

lol. At it again, Top work rod!! Now its my turn

Unreal mate!! I was flicking a few hard body lures down ross creek (townsville harbour) yesterday arvo whilst drifting with the current and I had the same issue with fish not hooking up? I don't quite get it? Basically after casting into a nie spot and reteivingf slowley with little jerks the lure would be followed and a little hit but no hook up? Sharp treble hooks (and they are quite small)...any ideas?

Once again though....nice fish!!!

Great stuff flickflack,
    Your fish is gorgeous, and so fat!! Bet he pulled some.
    Good on ya mate,
    Fritzy

Nice work again Rod, i had a jack fish yesterday arvo into the night and dropped a fish on the lures in the arvo and numerous runs, hook ups and bust offs on livies but no jacks in the boat. Have u done a deal with the big red devil to get all these fish in your boat the last couple of weeks? whytey (Very jealous)
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Hey flickflack just wondering what sort of structure you are trolling around ? Is it just sand bars ? rock walls ? mangroves?

Mitch

Hey Roderick you been talking to someone who reckons they bite in shitty weather ?

I thought I was the only one crazy enough to fish for jacks in a hurricane??!!
    Real men don't use wet weather gear tho, mate ...... you just need a lifejacket ....... makes for ridiculous photo's!!

Congrats to Kev on his His 1st Innings scoreboard.
    We gotta suss out these Giant herring now mate!

Seajayman.
    You have to try a few different things mate, give the fish a rest then try working the lure back a bit faster( might get a reaction strike ) or change the lure colour. Remember to give the spot a break before you hit it again. I recon once a jack has seen a lure and hit it you nned to give him a break for a while then come back with something different.

Mitch

Rock bars, rock walls and steep drop offs.

Franco

just waiting for the right tide mate then I will go and have a look at those spots we checked out.

what can we say rod - youre definitely hot property right now! fabtastic YET AGAIN!!! thanks for the great pics.

cuzza

gogecko

You werent gunna let the missus PB outdo you, eh? 49 cm wasnt it? Now your back where you belong. Well done.

Does the current ever get too strong for trolling, or are you ok whatever the tide is doing?

Well done mate!

Seems like you are really given those Jacks a work out.

Heading to Red Rock this weekend to hopefully terrorise a few. It just go's to show that they really rely alot on their movement sensors rather than vision.

I wonder how they go after a great flash of light from a camera?

Aaron

Gogeck

No mate it was 59cm, dont think I will beat that in a hurry. I prefer less tide but if it runs harder then I just troll a bit shorter and use a deeper diving lure, the problem seems to be that the jacks arnt really out roaming when the current is ripping . They seem to be tight on the structure. trying to get out of it and they are hard to get out because they know how to use it.

Aaron

Dunno about them mate but I am just about blind after.

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

They're some abvsolutely awesome jacks again flickflack!!!!
    Hopefully i'll be coming up in the chrissy holidays sometime but at this stage its looking like it wont happen >