FISHING WITH THEOLDLEGEND & HERBY plus GIRLSvBOYS - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: FISHING WITH THEOLDLEGEND & HERBY plus GIRLSvBOYS

Re: FISHING WITH THEOLDLEGEND & HERBY plus GIRLSvB

Quote Originally Posted by roz
    Herbie did say it was around 2.5kg but I really think it was more around 1.5kg. Anyway, we were going to test the big bait big fish theory.
    Roz, it's a fishing report ... you're meant to EXAGGERATE!!!
    Btw - you're probably right.

...... Herby generously let me have the rod for the last fish of the day.... considering he trampled everyone getting to the hookups earlier
    Hey baby, survival of the fittest! You snooze you lose

.....which actually back fired at one stage, as Herby now has the high distinction of probably being the only person in history to catch a moray eel on the troll . Although I can't talk, as I landed a big long tom just before that.

And what a title to hold. Quite an honour! ANYONE else ever caught one slow trolling???

It's a damn site easier taking the hooks out of a long tom than a moray eel!. Herbie... you should appreciate your deckie a bit more!!!
    I do appreciate my deckie, I praised Tony all w.e. about his boat driving, fishing, gaffing and great company!
    You did do well to unhook the moray beside the boat I must say, looked to me like you'd had a bit of experience doing it too!

WELL DONE GUYS
    At this point I will extend the challenge again for sometime in '06. How about it Herbie?
    Sure Roz, whatever it takes to prove that it WASN'T a fluke. I'm just happy that you were my deckie for a day and that the apprentice was able to match it with the master.
    On a more serious note, I want to thank Roz again for everything she has taught me about mackerel fishing and rigging dead baits. She's a true champion in my books and you won't find many people out there with a kinder (or bigger) heart. Thanks again for inviting Helen and me up for a few days, we had a ball as usual and hopefully we can do it again in the new year.
    Who knows, maybe Waterfront Drive will be built this time next year!?!?
    Great report and pics btw, I'll see if I can get a few more off Hel's camera to add to your collection.

Herby

Quote Originally Posted by thumps

we will be passing you in January on our way to Awoonga

thumps

Dammot Juicy...gimme that dam road map

hahahahaha

Damn.....ya looked at another road map!!!!!

Ok ok, so ya going to making it to Awoonga after all for a fish with me!!

Don't forget to go right into Gladstone.....don't take the bypass.......come out the other side of Gladstone, head towards Rocky.....then do several left rights if ya hit Brisbane or Townsville, u have gone too far...........*wink*

Nah, in all seriousness, will get ya a propa map.

Juicy

Why dont you lay a trap for the mongrels that keep stealing and cutting up your pots etc. I think this is the second or 3rd report Ive heard of this happening. I seem to remember a story from an old pro crabber who use to put some hrrible tar like substance on the rope and if any one tried pulling the lines up they would get it all over themselves and their boat.

I reckon amongst the forum we would have some very lateral thinkers and possible ways to get even without getting violent.

Thanks for the report and the great pictures.

Hey Gunna & bigmack,

I think I will post the mudcrab story on General Chat over the next few days. It would have spoiled a good fishing story as there was nothing funny about it. Hope you will let me know your thoughts.

cheers roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Hi Roz, thanks for the kind words about me not being a total fishing spack (it's Helen btw). Thanks also for not mentioning the whole fishing-line-meets-propeller thing either...
    It's definitely on for next year. Herby's acting brave, but it's just a front. Also wondering where Tony's pictures are?
    Hopefully see you soon! Thanks again for letting us stay. Helen

Hel,

I should have posted some of his pics, but I didn't have the heart....at least you could see where the boat was. That was one of the better ones!

take care

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Hey Roz/Herb/Old legend,
    Some great fishing there - accompanied by some sensational fish. Are spanish usually taken on trolled dead baits or do lures work just as well. Also, love the SMILE Herb - looks like a colgate commercial mate. Pity you always start off happy, then as the time and tension builds, the smile gradually transforms... Until you catch the sucker...
    We had on a fish at fraser last year on half a tailor that took around 300m of line on its first run. I was yelling and screaming and going beserk. After some 45 minutes of full pressure, gaining maybe 50 m before loosing about another 200 my smile and whooping had evapourated too!! At least you got to have a look at your beast. Mine didn't come that close to the beach.
    Cheers Fritzy

Fritzy,
    You can get them on lures .... I think Roz has always done better on trolled dead baits and all the pros up there use slimies (dead or alive) so that should give you some indication as to what works best (most of the time)!
    On the Friday arvo when we were trolling around Outer Rock, there were a couple of guys catching fish on trolled H/B lures (at around 8-9 knots), so they definately work. Tony and I picked up a couple smaller fish on the Sat on a Rapala lure but no keepers. I'm going to give the entire lure box a work out next time I'm up there!!! lol

Herby

they are some great fish there roz but was very impressed with the muscle tone in the biseps and delts; what do you bench press. fished with a girl out on lord howe regulary that can bench press 100 and spas with the best of us great to see the finer sex surving it up to the lads you go girl!

Fritzy,

Bloody Sharks! You would think by now I would have more sense, but nooooooo, we had to go and have a play.

Trouble is, I am just as stubborn as Herby...the more Herby hovered around saying "give it to me...give it to me" the longer I fished..... around 40 minutes longer.

Mackeral fishing at Bustard can be amazing, but has been a bit patchy for a while, my preference for bait would be livies but I don't have a tank in the VC so I make do with dead baits.

The best six would be tailor, bonito, horsies, slimies, gar and pike. I used to use lures but found that in the long run baits out fished them 10 to one, but on the right day lures can prove to be very successful, infact we saw that on the Friday.

Funny thing happened on Saturday, Helen and I were trolling and I noticed one of the baits didn't seem to be swimming properly, I wound it in to find it had hooked up to almost 15 metres of line attached to a halco lure. Must have been lost by the crew from the evening before.

Finders keepers I suppose.

What are the chances of that hapening again? Probably about the same as somebody catching a moray eel......on the troll Sorry Herb I've gotta let it die.

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

Hi Roz,
    Great report and pics,it sounds as though a good time was had by all,although how hard is it to enjoy yourself up in God's country.Looking forward to the next trip up there

Roz,
    I recon stubborness is part and parcel of the real art of fishing. Saying to yourself, 1 last session, 1 more hour, one more cast, one more cast... When your shoulders are hurting like hell from throwing lures for hours straight. Do you give in? When you do, how often do you see a fella show up a pin a monster first cast. Had you kept going it could have been your fish.
    How often do you get the best fish cause you stuck it out. There are heaps of times this has happened to me. Stuck it out in the freezing cold (without waders) one night on the beach - took my best ever tailor. Stuck it out one night off the rocks, took my best ever bream. I think the emotional toughness learned through persistance in fishing is one of the best lessons. While you may not be comfortable, there is always the chance (often only a small chance) that a great fish will come to the party as long as your line is in the water. Go home early, stay in bed, go home to get warm, miss the big one. Thats something i love about fishing - persistance is usually rewarded. Keep doing things right, keep trying, and eventually the fish will come. The hundreds of fishless trips are so quickly forgotten when a big fish finally comes to play.
    Keep trying those big baits, i have little doubt that your next post will have pictures of a HUGE SPANYIARD. Once again, congratulations on a sensational trip - nothing better than catching great fish with great company.
    Cheers Fritzy

That was a really nice reply, everything you wrote is so true.

Thank you again Fritzy.

Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!